Skip to main content
Design & Creative

The best Canva alternatives in 2026

Short answer: Stay with Canva if you work alone or need a huge template library with brand approvals. Small teams can save a lot with VistaCreate Pro or Adobe Express Teams now that Canva Teams is closed.

Emily RodriguezEditor, Data, Design & Web✓ Prices checked October 20267 tools20 min read
Our pick for most creators

Canva

From $18Free planG2 4.7 · 7,757 reviews

The free plan has 1.6M+ templates and Pro is US$144 a year for one person. Teams now need Business at US$250 per person per year, which is where alternatives get interesting.

The other picks

Best low-cost team planAdobe ExpressTeams at US$7.99 per license (US$4.99 in year one) with template locking.
Best for presentations and reportsVismePPTX, HTML5 and video export on Business, SCORM on Enterprise.
Best for infographics on a budgetPiktochartPro from US$10 per member per month billed annually.
Best flat price for small teamsVistaCreateUS$120 a year covers up to 10 seats.
Best for print-on-demandKittlUnlimited bulk mockups and a commercial license on paid plans.
Best for AI photo and video editingPicsart500 AI credits a month on Pro at US$10.50 billed yearly.

All 7, side by side

ToolFromFree planG2 ratingBest for
$18Free; Pro $18/month or $144/year for one person; Business $25/person/month or $250/person/year✓ Yes4.77,757 reviewsSolo creators and small marketing teams
Adobe ExpressPricing source ↗
$9.99Free; Premium $9.99/month; Teams $7.99/license/month ($4.99 first year), 2-seat minimum✓ Yes4.5855 reviewsAdobe users wanting quick branded content
$12.25Free; paid from $12.25/person/month billed annually ($29 monthly)✓ Yes4.5510 reviewsPresentations, infographics and reports for teams
$10Free; Pro $10/member/month billed annually ($15 monthly); Business $17/member/month billed annually ($20 monthly)✓ Yes4.4163 reviewsInfographics and reports on a budget
$10Free; Pro $10/month billed annually ($120/year) or $13 monthly, for up to 10 seats✓ Yes4.5171 reviewsSmall teams on a tight budget
$14Free; Pro $14/month billed annually ($19 monthly); Expert $39 annually ($49 monthly); Max $65 annually ($85 monthly)✓ YesNot yet verifiedPrint-on-demand and merch designers
$10.50Free app; Pro $10.50/month billed yearly ($15 monthly); Ultra from $37.50/seat/month billed yearly✓ YesNot yet verifiedAI photo and video editing for creators

Starting prices are the lowest paid plan, checked on each vendor's pricing page in October 2026. G2 ratings are shown only when we confirmed them.

Why Look for Canva Alternatives in 2026

Canva's free plan is generous: 1.6M+ templates, 4.7M+ stock assets, a basic Brand Kit and 5GB of storage. Pro at $144 a year is good value for one person. The pain starts when a second person joins:

  • Pro is for one person only. Canva's FAQ says "Only one person can use a Canva Pro account." Two people who want to share designs and brand kits need Canva Business.
  • Canva Teams is closed. "Canva Teams is no longer available for new sign-ups or upgrades." Teams used to cost US$100 per person per year with a 3-person minimum. Existing Teams customers stay on their plan, but new teams start on Business.
  • Business costs much more per person. It is US$25 per person per month, or US$250 per person per year. A five-person team on yearly billing pays $1,250 a year (5 x $250).
  • AI use is capped. Free gets up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month. Pro gets up to 200 Premium or 20 Ultra AI uses, and Business up to 400 Premium or 40 Ultra. Heavier use needs the paid AI Pass add-on.
  • SSO and SCIM need Enterprise, which has no public price.

Canva is still good. The real question is whether another tool fits your team size, output or budget better. Each of the six alternatives below is stronger than Canva at a specific job.

Canva review

Canva is a design editor built on a huge template library, with AI tools for jobs like resizing, translating and background removal. Its free plan is one of the largest in this comparison.

Key features

  • Template library: 1.6M+ templates on Free, 3.6M+ (including premium) on Pro and Business
  • Brand Kits: 1 on Free (3 colors only), 5 on Pro, 100 with approvals on Business, 1,000 with tiered approvals on Enterprise
  • AI tools (resize, translate, remove background, Magic Layers, Canva AI 2.0) with a shared monthly AI allowance
  • Social content scheduling (Pro and up)
  • Team admin and collaboration tools, plus access to Flourish data visualization (Business and Enterprise)

Pricing

US prices, excluding tax:

  • Free: US$0, one person. 1.6M+ templates, 4.7M+ stock assets, 1 Brand Kit (3 colors only), 5GB storage, up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month.
  • Pro: US$18 a month billed monthly, or US$144 a year billed yearly. One person only. 3.6M+ templates, 5 Brand Kits, 100GB storage, up to 200 Premium or 20 Ultra AI uses a month.
  • Business: US$25 per person per month billed monthly, or US$250 per person per year billed yearly. You are billed only for members who accept an invite, and no seat minimum is shown. 100 Brand Kits with approvals, up to 400 Premium or 40 Ultra AI uses a month, team admin tools and Flourish.
  • Enterprise: contact sales. No public price and no free trial (demo instead). 1,000 Brand Kits with tiered approvals, SSO and SCIM, and priority support with a dedicated success manager for 150+ contracted seats.

Free trials are offered for Pro and Business, but the pricing page does not state the length. The yearly toggle says "Save from 16%". An AI Pass add-on is available for Pro and Business at extra cost, and Business can buy AI top-ups. Nonprofits and K-12 schools get most premium features free.

Canva Teams is closed to new sign-ups and upgrades. Existing customers can stay; new teams start on Business.

Pros

  • Large free plan: 1.6M+ templates, 5GB storage and a basic Brand Kit
  • Pro at $144/year includes 3.6M+ templates, 5 Brand Kits and 100GB storage
  • Business has no seat minimum and bills only for members who join
  • Content license allows commercial uses such as ads, packaging and products for resale

Cons

  • Pro covers one person only, so even two-person teams pay $250/person/year for Business
  • AI use is capped by a monthly allowance; heavy use needs the paid AI Pass add-on
  • SSO and SCIM require Enterprise with custom pricing

Who should use it

Solo creators and freelancers (Free or Pro), and marketing teams that need shared brand kits with approvals and can justify $250 per person per year.

Who should skip it

Small teams on a tight budget, since there is no cheap multi-person plan any more. Also check the license fine print if you sell physical products: Branded Content, Education Content, Disney content and "Editorial Use Only" content are not for commercial use, and Pro Music cannot be used in paid TV, radio, cinema or billboard ads.

Adobe Express review

Adobe Express is Adobe's template-based editor, with static and video templates, brand kits and content scheduling. It is Canva's closest like-for-like rival, and its team plan is much cheaper per seat. Its generative AI runs on Adobe Firefly.

Key features

  • All premium static and video templates on Premium
  • Firefly generative AI: 250 generative credits per month per user on Premium and Teams
  • Brand Kits (Premium and up); branded templates with template locking on Teams
  • Content scheduling: 1 account per network on Free, 3 per network on Premium
  • One-click Resize for multiple channels (Premium)

Pricing

  • Free: US$0, no credit card required. 100,000+ templates, 1M+ Adobe Stock assets, 4,000+ fonts, 5GB storage, limited generative AI, 10-day version history, no Brand Kits.
  • Premium: US$9.99 a month, billed monthly with no annual commitment. 30-day free trial. No annual price is listed on the US page.
  • Firefly Pro: US$19.99 a month, billed monthly, 7-day free trial. All Premium features plus 4,000 monthly generative credits and Photoshop on web and mobile.
  • Teams: regularly US$7.99 per license per month, offered at US$4.99 per license per month for the first year. Annual subscription billed monthly, 2-seat minimum.
  • Enterprise: contact sales. Starts at 250 generative credits per month per user; select plans are eligible for IP indemnification for Firefly images.

K-12 is free for qualified educators. Note that Adobe's page lists conflicting Premium storage figures, so confirm storage before you buy if it matters.

Pros

  • Premium is $9.99/month with no annual commitment and a 30-day trial
  • Teams costs $7.99/license/month ($4.99 in year one) with brand controls and template locking
  • Firefly generative AI is described by Adobe as designed to be commercially safe
  • Free plan needs no credit card and includes 100,000+ templates

Cons

  • Generative AI is capped at 250 credits per month on Premium and Teams
  • Teams needs a 2-seat minimum and an annual commitment
  • Pricing page lists conflicting storage (100GB vs 10GB) and template counts for Premium

Who should use it

Small teams that want Canva-style templates and brand controls at a lower seat price, and anyone already using Adobe tools.

Who should skip it

Heavy AI users who will run past 250 generative credits a month (Firefly Pro raises that to 4,000 for individuals), and solo users who want a yearly discount, since no annual Premium price is listed.

Visme review

Visme focuses on presentations, infographics, documents and reports, with charts, data widgets, interactivity and animation. Its key advantage over Canva is export: PPTX, HTML5, video and GIF on Business, and SCORM/xAPI for training content on Enterprise.

Key features

  • Presentations, infographics, documents, social graphics and forms in one editor
  • AI tools (AI Designer, AI Writer, AI Resize, text-to-image, image filters) using monthly AI credits
  • Brand Kit (Business and up)
  • Charts and data widgets, interactivity and animation
  • Exports to PPTX, HTML5, video and GIF on Business; SCORM/xAPI on Enterprise

Pricing

  • Basic: US$0, 1 user, unlimited projects, limited templates, 500MB storage, 50 slides or pages per project, 10 AI credits a month, JPG/PNG/PDF downloads. Removing the Visme logo is not included.
  • Starter: US$12.25 per person per month billed annually (US$147 a year), or US$29 billed monthly. 1GB storage, 200 AI credits a month, JPG/PNG/PDF downloads.
  • Business: US$24.75 per person per month billed annually (US$297 a year), or US$59 billed monthly. 10GB storage, 500 AI credits a month, Brand Kit.
  • Enterprise: custom price, from 10 users. 25GB per user, unlimited AI credits, SSO and 2FA.

The AI Designer uses 2 credits per generation; other AI tools use 1. Students pay US$48 a year and educators US$96 a year; nonprofits get 25% off Business. No free trial is shown.

Pros

  • Free plan allows unlimited projects
  • Business includes Brand Kit, analytics and PPTX/HTML5/video export
  • Enterprise adds SCORM/xAPI export for training content
  • Annual billing halves the price versus monthly

Cons

  • Monthly billing is expensive: $29 (Starter) and $59 (Business) per person
  • Starter lacks Brand Kit and PPTX export
  • Free plan is capped at 10 AI credits and 500MB storage

Who should use it

Teams that build presentations, reports and training material and need brand controls plus PPTX or HTML5 export.

Who should skip it

Anyone who wants monthly billing: Business at $59 a month per person is more than twice Canva Business.

Piktochart review

Piktochart is an infographic, report and presentation editor with AI design generators and data tools like interactive charts, maps, CSV import and Google Sheets data. It has low per-member pricing and a free plan for up to 4 members.

Key features

  • Infographic, report and presentation templates (premium templates on Pro and up)
  • AI generators for infographics, presentations, documents and images, using monthly AI credits
  • Brand Kit with unlimited color schemes, custom fonts and logos (Business)
  • Interactive charts and maps, CSV import and Google Sheets data
  • Team collaboration with comments and visual permissions

Pricing

  • Free: $0, up to 4 members (owner plus 3), unlimited visual projects, 2 PNG downloads, 60 AI credits a month, free templates only, 1GB storage.
  • Pro: $10 per member per month billed annually ($120 a year), or $15 billed monthly. 1 to 100 members, unlimited PNG downloads, 500 AI credits a month, premium templates, 100GB storage.
  • Business: $17 per member per month billed annually ($204 a year), or $20 billed monthly. Unlimited PNG, PDF and PPT downloads, Brand Kit, branded templates, 1,000 AI credits a month, 250GB storage.
  • Enterprise: custom, 101+ members, SSO/SAML.

Nonprofits can get Pro for $60 a year and education users for $39.99 a year. Generating from a topic costs 1 AI credit, from pasted text or uploads 3 credits, and an AI image 25 credits. No free trial is listed, and refunds are generally not given.

Pros

  • Pro at $10/member/month billed annually
  • Free plan supports up to 4 members and unlimited projects
  • Business adds Brand Kit, branded templates and PDF/PPT export
  • Discounted nonprofit ($60/year) and education ($39.99/year) Pro plans

Cons

  • Free plan allows only 2 PNG downloads
  • PDF and PowerPoint downloads require the Business plan
  • Refunds are generally not provided

Who should use it

Marketing, HR and comms teams that turn data into infographics and reports and want low per-member pricing.

Who should skip it

Anyone who needs PDF or PowerPoint export on a Pro budget, or who wants to use the free plan for real work (2 PNG downloads go fast).

VistaCreate review

VistaCreate (formerly Crello) is a template editor for static and animated designs, with social scheduling and AI tools. Its unusual pricing is the draw: one Pro price covers up to 10 seats.

Key features

  • 200K+ static and animated design templates on Pro
  • AI tools on Pro: Image Generator, AI Writer, Object Remover, Background Remover
  • Unlimited Brand Kits on Pro (1 on Starter)
  • Social media scheduling
  • One-click Resizer, Sticker Maker and version history (Pro)

Pricing

  • Starter: US$0, 1 seat, 100K design templates, 1M photos, videos and vectors, 1 Brand Kit, 10GB storage.
  • Pro: US$10 a month billed annually (US$120 a year upfront), or US$13 billed monthly. Covers up to 10 seats. 200K+ templates, a much larger stock library, unlimited Brand Kits, unlimited storage and AI tools.

Pro has a 14-day free trial; payment details are required, but you are not charged during the trial. Annual billing saves 23%. Eligible nonprofits and teachers can get Pro free.

Pros

  • One $120/year Pro price covers up to 10 seats
  • Unlimited Brand Kits and storage on Pro
  • 14-day free trial of Pro
  • Stock license covers commercial and personal projects, web and print

Cons

  • Free Starter plan has 1 seat and 1 Brand Kit
  • Pro covers at most 10 seats
  • License bars use of assets in digital or printed items intended for resale

Who should use it

Small businesses and social teams of up to 10 people who want one flat price.

Who should skip it

Teams larger than 10, and sellers who want to use stock assets in products for resale, which the license does not allow.

Kittl review

Kittl is aimed at designers and sellers making print-on-demand, product and merchandise graphics. It combines premium templates and mockups with AI image and video generation across third-party models, paid for with AI tokens.

Key features

  • 10,000+ premium templates and mockups (paid plans)
  • AI image and video generation across third-party models, using AI tokens
  • Unlimited bulk mockup creation on all plans
  • High-resolution and vector exports for print and digital (paid plans)
  • Brand applied automatically across designs and assets (paid plans)

Pricing

Prices are per editor. Viewers are always free.

  • Free: $0. 100 AI tokens one-time (up to 20 images or 1 video), standard templates, 5 saved projects, 500MB storage. Personal use only, per Kittl's FAQ.
  • Pro: $14 a month billed annually, or $19 monthly. 2,000 AI tokens a month, unlimited projects, 10GB storage.
  • Expert: $39 a month billed annually, or $49 monthly. 200 bonus daily tokens, 100GB storage.
  • Max: $65 a month billed annually, or $85 monthly. 600 bonus daily tokens, 1TB storage.

Kittl's plan cards and comparison table disagree on monthly tokens for Expert and Max, so check before you buy. Daily bonus tokens are a limited-time promotion. Unused monthly tokens do not roll over. Team workspaces, custom brand management, custom design requests and 24/7 support are business add-ons through sales. No free trial is listed.

Pros

  • Large AI token allowances on Expert and Max, plus daily bonus tokens
  • Unlimited bulk mockup creation on every plan
  • Paid plans include a commercial license up to 500,000 copies
  • Viewers are free; you pay only for editors

Cons

  • Free plan is personal use only with 5 projects
  • Pricing page gives conflicting token numbers for Expert and Max
  • Team workspaces and custom brand management require contacting sales

Who should use it

Print-on-demand sellers and merch designers who need mockups and a commercial license.

Who should skip it

Teams that want a general marketing design tool with self-serve team workspaces, and anyone hoping to sell work made on the free plan.

Picsart review

Picsart is a photo and video editor with heavy AI features: image and video generation across many third-party models, background and object removal, and a one-tap enhancer. It suits social creators more than design teams.

Key features

  • AI image and video generation across many third-party models, paid with monthly credits
  • Background and object removal, 1-tap image enhancer
  • Brand kits: 3+ on Pro, 10+ on Ultra
  • Batch editing: up to 50 images at once on Pro, 100 on Ultra
  • Thousands of premium templates and millions of stock photos plus Getty video clips (paid)

Pricing

  • Free: a free account and app with standard editing tools and a selection of templates. The pricing page does not state a free credit amount.
  • Pro: US$10.50 a month billed yearly, or US$15 monthly. 500 credits a month, 100GB storage, up to 10 devices.
  • Ultra (per seat): 1,500 credits a month for $37.50 billed yearly ($47 monthly); 2,500 credits for $60 yearly ($75 monthly); 5,000 credits for $115.83 yearly ($145 monthly); 10,000 and 10,000+ tiers also offered. Adds team seats and 300GB storage per seat.

Monthly credits do not roll over, but add-on credits never expire. No free trial is shown.

Pros

  • Pro is $10.50/month billed yearly with 500 AI credits
  • Unlimited image generation with the Flux.2 Klein model on Pro and Ultra
  • AI-generated output is available for commercial use per Picsart
  • Failed generations refund credits automatically

Cons

  • Monthly AI credits expire each billing cycle
  • Team features need Ultra at $37.50 to $115.83 per seat per month (yearly)
  • Not all stock content is cleared for commercial use, and music is personal use only

Who should use it

Social media creators and small brands who edit lots of photos and short videos and want AI generation in the same app.

Who should skip it

Teams on a budget, since team seats start on Ultra. Commercial users must filter stock content (#freeforbusiness or the license filter).

Head-to-Head Comparison

Ease of use

Canva, Adobe Express and VistaCreate are the easiest to pick up: start from a template, swap text and images, export. Visme and Piktochart take longer because they are built around charts and longer documents. Picsart works more like a photo and video editor than a layout tool.

Features

  • Templates: Canva has the biggest stated library (1.6M+ free, 3.6M+ paid). VistaCreate lists 200K+ on Pro, Adobe Express 100,000+ on Free, and Kittl 10,000+ premium templates and mockups.
  • Brand controls: Canva Business (100 Brand Kits with approvals), Adobe Express Teams (template locking), VistaCreate Pro (unlimited Brand Kits), Visme and Piktochart Business (Brand Kit).
  • Export: Visme Business exports PPTX, HTML5, video and GIF. Piktochart needs Business for PDF and PPT. Kittl's paid plans export high-resolution and vector files.
  • AI: every tool meters AI. Canva counts AI uses, Adobe Express generative credits (250 on Premium), Visme and Piktochart AI credits, Kittl tokens and Picsart credits.

Pricing value: a five-person marketing team

Yearly cost for five people on each tool's team-capable plan, using only confirmed prices:

Tool and planCalculationCost per year
Canva Business, yearly5 x $250$1,250
Canva Business, monthly5 x $25 x 12$1,500
Adobe Express Teams, first year5 x $4.99 x 12$299.40
Adobe Express Teams, after year one5 x $7.99 x 12$479.40
Visme Business, annual5 x $297$1,485
Piktochart Pro, annual5 x $120$600
Piktochart Business, annual5 x $204$1,020
VistaCreate Pro, annualone price for up to 10 seats$120
Kittl Pro, annual5 editors x $14 x 12$840
Picsart Ultra (1,500 credits), yearly5 seats x $37.50 x 12$2,250

VistaCreate is the clear budget winner for up to 10 people. Adobe Express Teams is the cheapest per-seat plan with brand controls. Canva Business costs less than Visme Business and Picsart Ultra. Canva Pro is left out because it covers one person only.

Ecosystem and licensing

Adobe Express connects to the wider Adobe world: Firefly Pro adds Photoshop on web and mobile, and Adobe says Firefly is designed to be commercially safe. Canva Business includes Flourish for data visualization. On licensing, Canva's license permits commercial uses such as ads, packaging and products for resale, with exceptions. VistaCreate's license bars assets in items intended for resale. Kittl's paid license covers up to 500,000 copies. Picsart says its AI output is available for commercial use, but music is personal use only.

Limits that bite

  • Canva: Pro is one person only; AI uses are capped monthly.
  • Adobe Express: 250 generative credits a month on Premium and Teams; Teams needs 2 seats and an annual commitment.
  • Visme: Starter exports only JPG, PNG and PDF.
  • Piktochart: Free allows 2 PNG downloads; Pro has no PDF or PPT export.
  • VistaCreate: Pro tops out at 10 seats.
  • Kittl: Free is personal use only, with 5 saved projects.
  • Picsart: monthly credits do not roll over; team seats only on Ultra.

How to Choose: Decision Framework

Questions to ask

  1. How many people need to edit? One person: Canva Pro, Adobe Express Premium or Picsart Pro. Two to ten: VistaCreate Pro, Adobe Express Teams or Piktochart. Larger: Canva Business, Visme or an Enterprise plan.
  2. What do you mostly make? Social graphics: Canva, Adobe Express, VistaCreate. Presentations and reports: Visme, Piktochart. Merch and print-on-demand: Kittl. Photo and video edits: Picsart.
  3. What format must you export? If you need PPTX or HTML5, check Visme Business or Piktochart Business.
  4. How much AI will you use? Compare the monthly caps above with how often your team generates images.
  5. Will you sell what you make? Read the license for your plan before you design products for resale.

Red flags

  • Sharing one Canva Pro login across a team. Canva says Pro is for one person.
  • Budgeting Adobe Express Teams at $4.99 forever. That price is for the first year only.
  • Picking Piktochart Pro and then needing PDF exports.
  • Selling designs made on Kittl's free plan, which is personal use only.

What to test in a trial

  • Rebuild three of your most common Canva designs and time how long each takes.
  • Set up your brand colors, fonts and logo, then have a non-designer make a post.
  • Export in every format you use (PNG, PDF, PPTX, video) and check quality.
  • Use AI features at a realistic weekly volume and watch how fast credits drop.

The Verdict: Final Recommendations

1) Canva: best all-round template editor

  • Stay on Free or Pro if you work alone.
  • For teams, budget $250 per person per year for Business, and compare it with the cheaper team plans below.

2) Adobe Express: best low-cost team plan

  • Pick Teams for brand controls and template locking at $7.99 per license ($4.99 in year one).
  • Remember the 2-seat minimum and annual commitment.

3) Visme: best for presentations and reports

  • Pick Business if you need PPTX, HTML5 or video export with a Brand Kit.
  • Choose annual billing, which halves the price.

4) Piktochart: best infographics on a budget

  • Start on Free with up to 4 members, then move to Pro at $10 per member per month.
  • Go to Business if you need PDF or PowerPoint downloads.

5) VistaCreate: best flat price for small teams

  • Pick Pro at $120 a year if your team is 10 people or fewer.
  • Check the license if you plan to sell products using its assets.

6) Kittl: best for print-on-demand

  • Pick Pro or higher for the commercial license and vector exports.
  • Confirm current token numbers for Expert and Max before upgrading.

7) Picsart: best for AI photo and video editing

  • Pick Pro for 500 monthly credits at $10.50 a month billed yearly.
  • Only move to Ultra if you need team seats or more credits.

Conclusion

Canva is still the easiest pick for a solo creator. For teams, the end of Canva Teams changes the math, since Business costs $250 per person per year. For Canva-style editing for less, look at VistaCreate and Adobe Express Teams. If your work is mostly presentations, reports or infographics, Visme and Piktochart are better fits. Kittl and Picsart are specialists for merch design and AI-heavy photo and video work. Run your three most common designs through a trial before you switch.

Frequently asked questions

VistaCreate Pro is the cheapest for small teams: US$120 a year (or US$13 billed monthly) covers up to 10 seats. Adobe Express Teams is US$4.99 per license per month in the first year and US$7.99 after that, with a 2-seat minimum. For comparison, Canva Business is US$250 per person per year.

About the editor

Emily Rodriguez

Editor, Data, Design & Web

Emily covers analytics, design tools, website builders, forms and accounting software. She compares plans line by line and tracks pricing changes so readers are not surprised at renewal.

Prices come from each vendor's pricing page, checked in October 2026. G2 ratings are shown only when we confirmed them on G2.

How we compare →

More comparisons