What a Small Business Needs From an LMS
A business of 5 to 100 people usually buys a learning management system (LMS) for three jobs: onboarding new hires the same way every time, proving that staff finished compliance training, and keeping standard operating procedures (SOPs) somewhere people will actually read them. You probably have no L&D team, no IT department and no appetite for a six-month rollout.
That rules out a lot of the market. Several well-known LMS vendors say on their own sites that they are not built for teams your size: LearnUpon says it is not a fit under 100 users, Trainual says it suits companies with 25 to 1,000 employees, and Docebo says it is best suited to 250+ learners. We include LearnUpon and Trainual below because they are common shortlist names, and we say plainly where they fit and where they don't.
What to check before you buy: the published price at your headcount, a free plan or trial, SCORM support for bought-in courses, built-in authoring, quizzes and certificates for compliance, automated enrollment, reporting, SSO, HRIS sync and a mobile app. We cover each below.
All prices below come from vendor pricing pages, checked in October 2026. "Billed annually" means the monthly equivalent of a yearly payment.
The Quick Answer
- Best for most small businesses: TalentLMS. Free for up to 5 users, published bracket prices, and SCORM, SSO and offline mobile apps from Core ($119/month billed annually for up to 40 users).
- Best pay-per-user monthly plan: 360Learning. $8 per active user per month, billed monthly, up to 100 users, with a 30-day trial.
- Best on a tight budget: Moodle (MoodleCloud). USD 160 a year billed annually for 50 users; self-hosted Moodle is free but you run the server.
- Best for PowerPoint authors at 100 users: iSpring LMS. $8,286 a year billed annually for 100 active users, authoring tool included. Quote only below 100.
- Best for SOPs and role-based onboarding: Trainual. Quote only, a $1,000 implementation fee, built for 25 to 1,000 employees.
- Best guided rollout past 100 users: LearnUpon. Implementation consultant included; not a fit under 100 users.
- Best if you also train customers or partners: Absorb LMS. Separate portals and commission-free eCommerce; quote only.
Small Business LMS at a Glance
| Tool | Free plan or trial | Published price | Fits teams of | SCORM | SSO | Mobile app |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TalentLMS | Free plan, 5 users, 10 courses | From $119/mo billed annually (1-40 users) | 1 to 1,000 (Enterprise beyond) | All plans (also xAPI, cmi5) | All paid plans | iOS, Android, offline |
| 360Learning | 30-day trial | $8 per active user/mo billed monthly | Team plan up to 100 | SCORM player, all plans | Listed on Team with an unexplained asterisk | iOS, Android, offline |
| iSpring LMS | 30-day trial, no card | $8,286/yr billed annually (100 active users) | 100+ (under 100: quote) | SCORM 1.2 and 2004 | Yes | Native app, offline |
| Moodle | Free self-hosted; 28-day MoodleCloud trial | MoodleCloud from USD 160/yr billed annually (50 users) | MoodleCloud up to 750 | Standard Moodle activity | OAuth 2 on MoodleCloud | Moodle App, offline |
| Trainual | Demo only | Quote; $1,000 implementation fee | 25 to 1,000 employees | Pro and up | Premium and up | iOS, Android |
| LearnUpon | Demo only | Quote | 100+ users | SCORM and xAPI | Yes | iOS and Android apps |
| Absorb LMS | Trial on request | Quote | Mid-market and enterprise | SCORM, xAPI, HTML5 | SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect | Mobile learning, Frontline App |
What It Costs at 10, 25, 50 and 100 Users
This table shows the cheapest published plan that covers each headcount, as a yearly total. Vendors that don't publish prices are marked "quote".
| Tool and plan | 10 users | 25 users | 50 users | 100 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TalentLMS Core, billed annually | $1,428/yr | $1,428/yr | $1,908/yr | $2,628/yr |
| TalentLMS Core, billed monthly | $1,788/yr | $1,788/yr | $2,628/yr | $3,348/yr |
| TalentLMS Grow, billed annually | $2,748/yr | $2,748/yr | $2,748/yr | $3,588/yr |
| 360Learning Team, billed monthly | $960/yr | $2,400/yr | $4,800/yr | $9,600/yr |
| MoodleCloud, billed annually | USD 160/yr (Starter) | USD 160/yr (Starter) | USD 160/yr (Starter) | USD 270/yr (Mini) |
| iSpring LMS Business, billed annually | quote | quote | quote | $8,286/yr |
| Trainual | quote + $1,000 fee | quote + $1,000 fee | quote + $1,000 fee | quote + $1,000 fee |
| LearnUpon | not a fit (quote) | not a fit (quote) | not a fit (quote) | quote |
| Absorb LMS | quote | quote | quote | quote |
The arithmetic:
- TalentLMS Core is priced by bracket, not per user. 1 to 40 users costs $119/month billed annually, so $119 x 12 = $1,428 a year, for 10 or 25 people. 41 to 70 users is $159/month, so $159 x 12 = $1,908. 71 to 100 users is $219/month, so $219 x 12 = $2,628. Billed monthly the same brackets cost $149, $219 and $279 a month ($1,788, $2,628 and $3,348 a year). Per person, that is $11.90 a month at 10 users ($119 / 10) and $2.19 at 100 ($219 / 100).
- TalentLMS Grow adds learning paths, custom reports and AI test creation. 1 to 70 users is $229/month billed annually ($229 x 12 = $2,748); 71 to 100 is $299/month ($299 x 12 = $3,588). TalentLMS Pro, the plan with automations, is $449/month billed annually for 1 to 100 users ($449 x 12 = $5,388 a year).
- 360Learning Team is $8 per active user per month, billed monthly: 10 x $8 = $80/month ($960 a year), 25 x $8 = $200 ($2,400), 50 x $8 = $400 ($4,800), 100 x $8 = $800 ($9,600). Each add-on (Coaching, Live, Globalization, Extended Academies) adds $2 per user per month, so 50 users with the Live add-on cost 50 x $10 = $500/month, or $6,000 a year.
- MoodleCloud is a fixed yearly fee by user cap, billed in Australian dollars (USD shown for reference; country taxes may apply). Starter covers 50 users for USD 160 (AUD 230) a year, about $13.33 a month. Mini covers 100 users for USD 270 (AUD 380), or $22.50 a month. Self-hosted Moodle has no licence fee, but hosting and admin time are your cost, and Moodle doesn't publish typical figures.
- iSpring LMS publishes packages from 100 active users: $8,286 a year billed annually, which is $690.50 a month ($8,286 / 12), shown by iSpring as $6.91 per user per month. A user counts as active if they log in at least once in a month. Below 100 users you request pricing.
Two caveats. TalentLMS doesn't say whether its brackets count registered or active users, and 360Learning counts a user as active from account creation until you delete or deactivate them, so in practice you pay for everyone on the account. Clean up leavers.
TalentLMS review
Overview
TalentLMS is the most complete self-serve LMS for a small business: a free plan with no time limit, prices for every bracket from 1 to 1,000 users, and SCORM, SSO and an API on its entry paid plan. It is our top pick.
The catch is plan gating. Core, the cheapest paid plan, has no learning paths and no automations. Learning paths start on Grow (five of them) and automations only on Pro.
Key features
- Unlimited courses on paid plans, unlimited total storage, 600MB per file
- SCORM 1.2, Tin Can (xAPI) and cmi5 on all plans
- Quizzes, surveys, assignments and custom certificates
- Gamification (badges, points, levels, leaderboards) on all plans
- SSO with SAML 2.0, LDAP and OpenID Connect on all paid plans, plus a REST API
- Native iOS and Android apps with offline access
- HR integrations including BambooHR, TalentHR, Sage People and ADP Workforce Now, plus Zapier
- TalentCraft AI course creator, AI content assistance, AI images and captions; AI test creation from Grow; AI course translation into 40+ languages and an AI Coach on Pro
Pricing
- Free: $0 for up to 5 users and 10 courses, 100MB per file, no credit card and no time limit.
- Core: $119/month billed annually or $149 billed monthly for 1 to 40 users; $159 or $219 for 41 to 70; $219 or $279 for 71 to 100. Caps at 100 users.
- Grow: $229/month billed annually or $299 billed monthly for 1 to 70 users; $299 or $389 for 71 to 100; up to 500 users.
- Pro: $449/month billed annually or $579 billed monthly for 1 to 100 users; up to 1,000 users.
- Enterprise: contact sales, from 1,000 users.
Annual billing saves at least 20% against monthly, and onboarding packages come with annual billing only. Nonprofits get 20% off annual plans. TalentLMS states there are no setup fees. TalentLibrary (1,000+ ready-made courses) is a paid add-on on every plan, for example $32/month billed annually on Core for 1 to 40 users.
Pros
- Free plan for up to 5 users with no time limit
- Every bracket price is published, from 1 to 1,000 users
- SCORM, xAPI and cmi5 plus SSO on the entry paid plan
- Native mobile apps with offline access
- HRIS links to BambooHR, ADP Workforce Now and Sage People
Cons
- Core has no learning paths, automations or custom reports
- Automations only on Pro ($449/month billed annually)
- Ready-made course library costs extra on every plan
- Free plan allows only 10 courses
Who should use it
Small businesses that want to start free, build onboarding and compliance courses themselves and pay a predictable bracket price. A 30-person company on Core pays $1,428 a year billed annually.
Who should skip it
Teams that need automated enrollment on day one but can't stretch to Pro, and teams whose training is mostly written SOPs rather than courses (Trainual is built for that).
360Learning review
Overview
360Learning is built around collaborative learning: subject experts co-author courses, learners comment, upvote and ask experts questions. Its Team plan is the only fully self-serve, per-user monthly plan in this group: $8 per active user per month, billed monthly, up to 100 users, cancel anytime.
Key features
- Collaborative co-authoring and learner forums on all plans
- AI-assisted authoring: courses from documents, AI outlines and quizzes
- SCORM player; upload SCORM packages, PDFs and video
- Instructor-led and virtual sessions, blended paths with automated certifications
- Groups with auto-enrolment by role or location and delegated permissions
- Real-time dashboards and custom reports
- iOS and Android apps with offline access
- AI Companion. AI coaching and AI roleplay appear on 360Learning's AI page but not in the plan table, and on Team the Coaching Solution is a $2 per user per month add-on
Pricing
- Team: $8 per active user per month, billed monthly, up to 100 users, no minimum users and no setup fees. Same price for learners, authors and admins. Add-ons at $2 per user per month each: Coaching, Live, Globalization and Extended Academies. The Team page describes implementation as self-guided, with async resources and monthly group onboarding sessions, while the pricing page says all plans come with tailored implementation and launch.
- Business and Enterprise: custom pricing, generally annual contracts.
There is a 30-day free trial of Team and no free plan. After you cancel Team, data is kept for 120 days and then deleted.
Pros
- Simple per-user monthly price with no annual contract
- 30-day free trial and no setup fee
- Strong co-authoring for teams where experts write training
- Auto-enrolment by role or location on Team
Cons
- Costs more than TalentLMS at 50 to 100 users ($4,800 vs $1,908 a year at 50)
- HRIS/HCM integrations start on Business
- SSO and Zoom/Teams are marked with an asterisk and no footnote; the Team plan page puts Zoom and Teams under the paid Live add-on
- Team caps at 100 users
Who should use it
Teams of roughly 10 to 30 people that want monthly billing, and companies where product, sales or operations experts will write the courses together.
Who should skip it
Businesses near 100 staff watching cost, and anyone who needs a BambooHR or Workday sync without moving to a custom-priced plan.
iSpring LMS review
Overview
iSpring LMS (formerly iSpring Learn) pairs an LMS with iSpring Suite AI, an authoring tool for building SCORM courses, quizzes, role-play simulations and training videos, much of it starting from PowerPoint. It also includes onboarding checklists, mentors, performance reviews and a corporate portal. Its published packages start at 100 active users, so for most of our readers it is a "when you reach 100" option.
Key features
- iSpring Suite AI authoring included in the Business plan (the pricing page doesn't say how many author seats)
- AI course creation from uploaded files and an AI assistant in the course editor
- SCORM 1.2 and 2004; PPT, MP4, PDF and other formats
- Learning tracks, assignments, quizzes and assessments
- Onboarding checklists, development plans, mentors and on-the-job training
- Training and user management automation, scheduled reports
- Native mobile app with offline learning, SSO and a REST API
- BambooHR, OrangeHRM and PeopleWeek integrations, plus Zapier
Pricing
- Business: billed annually only on the pricing page. 100 active users: $8,286 a year ($6.91 per user per month). 300 users: $16,050 a year. 500 users: $23,790 a year. Fewer than 100 users: request pricing.
- Enterprise: request pricing.
There is a 30-day free trial with no credit card. The pricing page shows a money-back guarantee, but iSpring's sales FAQ says iSpring LMS as SaaS is not covered by one. There are no nonprofit or academic discounts. If you bought the authoring tool alone, iSpring Suite AI is listed at $1,290 per author per year, which shows what the bundle includes.
Pros
- Full authoring suite included in the LMS price
- Onboarding checklists, mentors and performance reviews built in
- Only charged for users who log in that month
- 30-day trial with no card
Cons
- Published prices start at 100 users
- Annual billing only on the pricing page
- $8,286 a year at 100 users is about three times TalentLMS Core ($2,628)
- No nonprofit discounts
Who should use it
Companies at or near 100 employees that build training in PowerPoint and want onboarding plus performance reviews in one tool.
Who should skip it
Teams under 100 who want a published price, and anyone who doesn't need a separate authoring tool.
Moodle review
Overview
Moodle is open source. You can download Moodle LMS free and host it yourself, or pay Moodle HQ for MoodleCloud, a hosted version with fixed yearly plans. Moodle itself says MoodleCloud is for "small organisations with basic training and onboarding needs". It is by far the cheapest option here, but it is the most hands-on.
Key features
- Quiz, Lesson (adaptive content), Choice (polls) and Badges activities
- SCORM packages as a core activity, tracking progress, completion and grades (MoodleCloud caps uploads at 250MB per file)
- Custom Certificate and Attendance modules included on MoodleCloud
- Unlimited courses and activities on MoodleCloud
- OAuth 2 among MoodleCloud's authentication methods
- No plugin installs on MoodleCloud, but APIs and LTI tools for HRIS and CRM systems, plus PayPal, Stripe (Small plan and up), H5P and Google Drive/Dropbox
- Integrated BigBlueButton video conferencing (limited to 50 users per session on Starter and the trial)
- Moodle App for iOS and Android with offline access; Premium app tier included on MoodleCloud
- AI subsystem: pick a provider (OpenAI, Azure AI or local models via Ollama or LocalAI) to generate and summarise text and generate images in the editor
Pricing
- Self-hosted Moodle LMS: $0 licence. You need a web server with PHP and a database. Moodle's own comparison says your team handles servers, upgrades, backups, outages, security and plugin maintenance. The Premium Moodle App costs EUR 499 a year if you self-host; the free app tier has limits such as 2 offline courses per device.
- MoodleCloud (billed annually, in AUD): Starter USD 160/year, 50 users, 1GB storage. Mini USD 270/year, 100 users, 2.5GB. Small USD 490/year, 200 users, 5GB. Medium USD 1,190/year, 500 users, 20GB. Standard USD 2,090/year, 750 users, 50GB.
- Moodle Workplace: quote only, licensed (not open source) and only through Certified Partners. It adds certifications, multi-tenancy and HR-system integration.
MoodleCloud has a 28-day free trial of Starter with no credit card.
Pros
- Lowest published price here by a wide margin
- Free and fully customisable if you self-host
- Premium mobile app included on MoodleCloud
- 28-day trial with no card
Cons
- You can't install plugins on MoodleCloud
- Small storage caps (1GB on Starter)
- Self-hosting puts upgrades, backups and security on you
- Certifications, multi-tenancy and HR-system integration need Moodle Workplace, which is partner-only and quote-based
Who should use it
Very budget-conscious teams with simple course-and-quiz needs (MoodleCloud), or businesses with in-house IT that want full control (self-hosted).
Who should skip it
Non-technical teams who want polished onboarding flows and automated enrollment without plugins or a partner. SCORM packages are a standard Moodle activity, but MoodleCloud's plan pages don't name SCORM and cap uploads at 250MB per file, so test large SCORM courses in the trial.
Trainual review
Overview
Trainual is less a course LMS and more a playbook: SOPs, process documents, roles and responsibilities, org charts and the training that goes with them. For a service or multi-location business that needs "how we do things here" written down and assigned by role, it is a strong fit. Trainual says it is best suited to companies with 25 to 1,000 employees, so a 10-person team is below its target.
Key features
- AI-assisted SOP writing: describe a process and get an editable draft
- Roles and responsibilities builder; org chart from Pro
- Train by group with due dates; individual training paths from Pro
- Tests with tracking and reporting, CSV and PDF export; AI-generated quizzes
- E-signatures for policies (300 a year on Pro, unlimited on Premium)
- HRIS and payroll integrations on Core: Gusto, BambooHR, ADP Run, HiBob, Deel, Justworks, Paychex, Workday and more, plus Slack
- Mobile app for iOS and Android and a Chrome extension
Pricing
All four plans (Core, Pro, Premium, Enterprise) are quote only; Trainual says pricing depends on team size and features. Every new customer pays a one-time $1,000 implementation fee, marked Required on all plans. There is no free plan and no self-serve trial: the FAQ answer to "Can I try Trainual before committing?" is to book a demo. SCORM storage starts on Pro (5GB), SSO on Premium and API access on Enterprise. A 400+ course library is a paid add-on.
Pros
- Best tool here for documenting SOPs and roles
- Long HRIS and payroll list on the Core plan
- Policy e-signatures from Pro
- Account can be paused for up to three months
Cons
- No published prices and a $1,000 implementation fee
- No free plan or self-serve trial
- SCORM needs Pro; SSO needs Premium
- Built for 25+ employees
Who should use it
Businesses of 25 to 100 people, especially field, service and multi-location teams, whose training is mostly processes and policies rather than formal courses.
Who should skip it
Teams under 25, anyone who wants to try before talking to sales, and companies centred on SCORM compliance courses.
LearnUpon review
Overview
LearnUpon is a polished, high-touch LMS with an implementation consultant, customer success and 24/7 support on all plans. Its pricing FAQ says it is not a fit for under 100 users. LearnUpon for Employees starts at 100 users, so it belongs on your list only as you approach that size.
Key features
- Create+ AI course authoring included (from videos, PDFs, slides and web links; translation into 120+ languages)
- SCORM and xAPI on all products
- Learning Journeys and dynamic rules for automated enrollment
- Assignments, exams, AI-powered assessments, certification and re-certification
- Reporting and analytics, plus a Reporting MCP
- SSO (OpenID Connect, Okta, OneLogin, Azure)
- iOS and Android apps
- HRIS integrations on the Employees product: ADP Workforce, Paycor, Gusto, Paylocity, Dayforce, SAP SuccessFactors
Pricing
Quote only for all three products. Minimums: 100 users for Employees, 150 for Associations and 300 for Customer Education. There is no free plan and no LMS trial on the pricing page (a free trial of Create+ can be requested). Contract length and implementation fees are not stated.
Pros
- Implementation consultant and 24/7 support on all plans
- AI authoring included
- Good HRIS list on the Employees product
Cons
- Not a fit under 100 users, by its own FAQ
- No published prices
- No LMS free trial
- Contract length and implementation fees not stated
Who should use it
Companies of about 100 people that want a guided rollout and expect to keep growing.
Who should skip it
Anyone under 100 users.
Absorb LMS review
Overview
Absorb (now at absorbai.com) is a mid-market and enterprise LMS with AI agents, skills management and separate portals for partners and customers. Its quote form starts at a 1 to 50 learner bracket, so it will talk to small teams, but nothing about price is published.
Key features
- SCORM, xAPI and HTML5 content
- Absorb Create AI course builder with PowerPoint import and AI voices
- Automated enrollment by role, department, location and skill gaps
- Certifications and compliance tracking with FDA 21 CFR Part 11 e-signature support; automated certification and recertification enrollment
- SSO via SAML 2.0 and OpenID Connect, REST and SCIM APIs, webhooks
- HRIS integrations: ADP, BambooHR, Namely, Workday, SAP SuccessFactors, UKG Pro, Dayforce, Deputy
- eCommerce included with every instance, commission-free
Pricing
Quote only, tailored by learner count, audiences, usage and modules. Absorb's pricing FAQ gives general advice for comparing any LMS: ask each vendor which setup, implementation, data migration, integration and overage costs are included. It doesn't say which of these Absorb itself charges. Absorb doesn't say which of its modules (Create, Analyze, Skills, Amplify and others) are included and which cost extra. A free trial is available on request; its length isn't stated.
Pros
- Very wide HRIS list
- Strong compliance tracking for regulated industries
- Separate portals for partners and customers
- eCommerce with no commission
Cons
- No published prices
- Unclear which modules are included
- Positioned for mid-market and enterprise
Who should use it
Growing businesses in regulated industries, or ones that will train customers and partners as well as staff.
Who should skip it
Small teams that want a price on a web page and a quick start.
Head-to-Head: Features That Matter for Staff Training
Free plans and trials. Only TalentLMS has a true free plan: 5 users and 10 courses with no time limit. 360Learning and iSpring offer 30-day trials, MoodleCloud 28 days with no card, and Absorb a trial on request. Trainual and LearnUpon offer demos, not trials.
SCORM and authoring. TalentLMS is clearest on standards, with SCORM 1.2, xAPI and cmi5 on every plan. Trainual stores SCORM only from Pro. iSpring includes the iSpring Suite AI authoring tool and LearnUpon includes Create+; 360Learning is built for co-authoring.
Quizzes, certificates and compliance. TalentLMS has quizzes, assignments and custom certificates on all plans. LearnUpon and Absorb handle re-certification, Absorb adds FDA 21 CFR Part 11 e-signatures, and Trainual covers policy sign-off from Pro. MoodleCloud has quizzes, badges and the Custom Certificate module; certifications are in Moodle Workplace.
Automations and reporting. TalentLMS keeps automations for Pro and learning paths for Grow and up. 360Learning includes auto-enrolment by role or location on its $8 Team plan, and iSpring includes training automation and scheduled reports.
SSO, HRIS and mobile. TalentLMS includes SSO on every paid plan; Trainual needs Premium. For HR sync, Trainual has the longest list on its first plan, while 360Learning saves HRIS for Business. MoodleCloud offers APIs and LTI options for HRIS systems instead of plugins, and Moodle Workplace adds HR-system integration. TalentLMS, 360Learning, iSpring and Moodle all have mobile apps with offline access; LearnUpon has iOS and Android apps, though we could not confirm offline access.
Setup effort. TalentLMS, 360Learning and MoodleCloud are self-serve. Trainual charges $1,000 for implementation and LearnUpon includes a consultant. Self-hosted Moodle is the heaviest: you provide a server with PHP and a database, then own upgrades, backups, security and plugins.
When You Outgrow These
Docebo comes up on many LMS lists, but it isn't a small business tool. Docebo says it is best suited to 250+ learners, prices are quote only, the minimum contract is one year and it says most customers sign three to five year contracts. Look at it once you are well past 250 learners and training customers or partners at scale.
How to Choose
- Under 5 users: start on the TalentLMS free plan.
- 5 to 40 users, simple courses: TalentLMS Core at $1,428 a year billed annually, or MoodleCloud Starter at USD 160 a year if budget is everything.
- Want monthly billing and auto-enrolment: 360Learning Team at $8 per user per month.
- Training is mostly SOPs and roles, 25+ staff: get a Trainual quote and budget the $1,000 fee.
- About 100 staff and authoring in PowerPoint: iSpring LMS at $8,286 a year.
- 100+ and growing fast: add LearnUpon and Absorb to the shortlist.
Red flags
- A plan that caps at 100 users when you are at 80 and hiring
- Automations or learning paths kept for a higher tier
- "Active user" definitions that count everyone until deleted
- Implementation fees and add-ons that only appear in the quote
What to test before you commit
- Upload one SCORM course and one PDF and check completion tracking
- Build a new-hire path and see whether enrollment is automatic on your plan
- Run a completion report and export it
- Try the mobile app offline
The Verdict
TalentLMS is the best LMS for most small businesses: the only free plan here, every price published, and SCORM, SSO and mobile on its first paid plan. Budget for Grow or Pro if you need learning paths or automations. Pick 360Learning for monthly billing, MoodleCloud if price is everything, and Trainual if your training is really your SOPs.
