What Business File Sharing Software Has to Do
Consumer cloud storage answers one question: can I get to my files from anywhere? Business file sharing has to answer several more. Who outside the company can see this folder, and for how long? Can a client upload tax documents without seeing anyone else's? Can IT turn off a departing employee's access in one place? Will the vendor sign a HIPAA business associate agreement? And what does all of it cost at 50 seats instead of 5?
This guide compares seven tools on those questions, using only what each vendor publishes on its own pricing, security and help pages as of October 2026. The criteria:
- External sharing controls. Password-protected links, expiry dates, download restrictions (preview-only or view-only), file requests for collecting files from outsiders, watermarking, and whether external collaborators cost extra.
- Compliance. HIPAA BAAs and the plan tier that unlocks them, ISO 27001 and SOC reports, financial-sector support (FINRA, SEC), and data residency options.
- Encryption model. Standard provider-managed encryption at rest versus end-to-end, zero-knowledge encryption where the vendor cannot read files.
- Admin controls. Single sign-on, user provisioning, audit or activity logs, remote wipe, and granular permissions.
- Cost at 10 and 50 users. Calculated from published per-user prices, with minimum seat counts and billing terms noted.
- Integrations. Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace editing, plus email plug-ins for sending files from Outlook or Gmail.
Box: Full Review (Top Pick)
What it is. Box is a business content platform: storage, sharing, e-signature, workflows and AI on one permission model, with a long list of integrations.
Why it is the top pick. At $15 per user per month billed annually, Box Business costs the same as Dropbox Standard but includes unlimited storage instead of a pooled team allowance that starts at 3 TB, and unlimited Box Sign e-signature requests instead of three per month. Business plans include document watermarking, data loss protection, custom branding and the Admin Console. Shared links on paid plans can carry a password and an automatic expiration date, and downloads can be switched off per link. SSO is available to Business and Enterprise accounts. Every Box plan includes built-in Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace integrations, and Business adds more than 1,500 integrations.
External sharing. On Business, external collaborators need paid accounts ("pay per each"). Business Plus ($25 per user per month billed annually) gives unlimited external collaborators, which matters for agencies and firms that share with many clients.
Compliance. Business and Business Plus include "SOC 1/2/3 compliance support". Enterprise ($35 per user per month billed annually) adds FedRAMP Moderate and HIPAA support, and Box signs HIPAA BAAs only with Enterprise, Enterprise Plus and Enterprise Advanced customers. Data residency is sold as the Box Zones add-on. Box Shield (classification-based controls and threat detection) and Box Governance (retention, disposition, legal holds, unlimited versions) are add-ons.
Pricing (per user per month, billed annually, monthly price in brackets, 3-user minimum on business plans).
- Business Starter: $5 ($7), 3 to 10 users, 100 GB, 2 GB upload limit, 25 versions.
- Business: $15 ($20), unlimited storage, 5 GB upload limit, 50 versions.
- Business Plus: $25 ($33), unlimited external collaborators, 15 GB upload limit, advanced admin controls, 50 versions.
- Enterprise: $35 ($47), 50 GB upload limit, FedRAMP Moderate and HIPAA support, advanced workflows, 100 versions.
- Enterprise Plus: $50 (annual), 150 GB upload limit, threat detection rules, unlimited versions.
- Enterprise Advanced: contact sales, uploads up to 500 GB.
Limits. HIPAA requires Enterprise, which makes Box more expensive than Dropbox or Sync.com for small healthcare practices. Upload limits on Business (5 GB) and Business Plus (15 GB) are lower than Dropbox's 100 GB transfers. There is no end-to-end encryption claim.
Best for. Most businesses that share files with clients and partners and want storage, e-signature and governance in one platform.
Dropbox: Full Review
What it is. Dropbox is the best-known sync service, with team plans that add sharing controls, admin features and Dropbox Transfer for one-way deliveries.
External sharing. Standard and Advanced include password-protected links, custom expiry dates, disabled downloads, advanced link settings, watermarking, viewer history and file locking. Dropbox Transfer sends files up to 100 GB, with password protection and expiry on transfers.
Compliance. Dropbox lists ISO 27001, 27017, 27018, 22301 and 27701, SOC 1, SOC 2 and SOC 3, GDPR and PCI DSS among its certifications and attestations. Admins on Standard, Advanced and Enterprise can sign a HIPAA BAA electronically in the admin console (US customers). Team data can be stored in Australia, the EU, Japan or the UK for eligible teams, in addition to the US.
Admin. Standard includes the admin console, company-managed groups, remote device wipe and device approvals. Advanced adds tiered admin roles, sign in as user, audit logs with file event tracking, SSO, ransomware detection and recovery, data classification, and end-to-end encrypted team folders with advanced key management.
Pricing (per user per month).
- Standard (1 or more users, team storage starts at 3 TB): $15 billed yearly, $18 billed monthly. 180-day file recovery.
- Advanced (3 or more users, team storage starts at 15 TB): $24 billed yearly, $30 billed monthly. One-year file recovery.
- Enterprise: contact sales.
Limits. SSO and audit logs require Advanced. E-signature is limited to three requests per month on every plan. End-to-end encryption covers encrypted team folders only, keeps metadata visible, and does not work in the mobile app.
Best for. Teams that prioritize sync reliability and large file delivery, and small healthcare-adjacent teams that need a BAA without an enterprise contract.
Egnyte: Full Review
What it is. Egnyte is a content platform aimed at governance: permissions, lifecycle policies, ransomware detection and sensitive data classification, with integrations for industries such as construction (AEC), financial services and life sciences.
External sharing. All plans include discretionary permissions, so users can share content in place. Email-validated sharing (links locked to specific email addresses) starts at Enterprise Lite. Dynamic watermarking, e-signature and PDF markup are included from Elite; on Business and Enterprise Lite, e-signature and PDF markup are paid add-ons.
Compliance. Egnyte's pricing table lists "Compliant Storage (HIPAA, FINRA, SOC2, ISO/IEC 27001)" on every business plan. Data residency options (allocating storage from Azure, AWS or GCP regions) start at Enterprise Lite. Customer-managed encryption keys are Ultimate-only. Egnyte does not claim end-to-end encryption.
Admin. SSO and Active Directory integration are a paid add-on on Business and included from Enterprise Lite. Enterprise Lite adds suspicious login detection, artifact-based ransomware detection and content lifecycle (retain, archive, delete) policies. Ultimate adds behavioral ransomware detection, 90-day snapshot recovery, DLP integrations and sensitive data classification. Microsoft 365 co-editing (online and desktop) and Google Workspace integration are on every plan.
Pricing (per user per month, paid annually).
- Team: $10, 1 to 10 users.
- Business: $22, up to 100 users, uploads up to 100 GB.
- Enterprise Lite: $39, unlimited users, uploads up to 150 GB.
- Elite: $48.
- Ultimate: custom quote.
- Add-ons include Snapshot and Recovery at $10 per user per month. Multi-year discounts are available. Egnyte's trial sign-up page offers a 15-day free trial.
Limits. The features that make Egnyte distinctive (SSO, data residency, lifecycle policies, ransomware detection) start at Enterprise Lite, $39 per user per month. No monthly billing price is published. Per-user storage allowances are not stated on the pricing page.
Best for. Mid-size firms with compliance officers, hybrid file servers or industry workflows, especially AEC and life sciences.
ShareFile: Full Review
What it is. ShareFile, now part of Progress Software's product portfolio (Progress ShareFile), is built for firms that exchange documents with clients: accountants, lawyers, insurers and financial advisers.
External sharing. Every plan includes unlimited client users, custom branding, file link expiration, view-only sharing with download and copy restrictions, and terms-and-conditions acceptance at login. Advanced, Premium and Enterprise add encrypted email, and ShareFile offers Outlook and Gmail plug-ins for sending and requesting files from email. Premium adds e-signature (up to 100,000 documents per month at the account level, with knowledge-based authentication), document requests, forms, tasks, workflow automation, an enhanced client portal and dynamic watermarking.
Compliance. Premium, Enterprise and Virtual Data Room are HIPAA eligible with a signed BAA, and SEC and FINRA eligible with a signed SEC addendum. Files are encrypted in transit and with up to AES-256 at rest, and customers can use their own keys through Amazon Key Management Service for ShareFile-managed storage zones.
Admin. Active Directory and SSO, multi-factor authentication, remote lock and wipe of lost devices, activity logs and reports, and threat detection alerts are included from Advanced. Enterprise adds SCIM provisioning with Microsoft Entra ID, SIEM integration (Microsoft Sentinel and Splunk), native DLP and user behavior analytics.
Pricing (per user per month, billed annually; monthly in brackets).
- Advanced: $16.50 ($18.15), 3-user minimum.
- Premium: $26.00 ($28.59), 3-user minimum.
- Enterprise: $35.00 ($42.00), 3-user minimum.
- Virtual Data Room: $69.30 ($77.00), 5-user minimum.
- Storage starts at 3 TB per account (1 TB per license, pooled), with 3 TB add-on packs. A one-time 14-day free trial is available (7 days for the data room), capped at 10 GB.
Limits. No free plan. HIPAA requires Premium. Storage is pooled at 1 TB per license, not unlimited.
Best for. Client-service firms that need a branded portal, document requests and e-signature in the same tool.
Tresorit: Full Review
What it is. Tresorit, part of Swiss Post, is an end-to-end encrypted, zero-knowledge platform for storing and sharing confidential files.
External sharing. Business plans include encrypted file sharing and file requests, link security settings, custom branding and audit logs. Business Pro adds dynamic watermarks, advanced link tracking and document analytics, and auto-deletion policies. Every business plan includes 16 free eSignatures and unlimited free-trial data rooms.
Compliance. Tresorit is ISO 27001:2022 certified (audited by TÜV Rheinland), offers a HIPAA BAA to customers who need one, and states that all of its data centers are GDPR compliant. Data residency is available on Business and Enterprise across 12 regions: Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, Singapore, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK, and the US West and East. Business Pro adds user-level residency.
Admin. Business includes SSO, custom admin policies, domain verification and a subscription co-admin. Business Pro adds Azure AD and Okta provisioning, Active Directory, and SIEM integration with Microsoft Sentinel.
Pricing (per user).
- Professional (1 user, 4 TB): $33.99 per month billed monthly or $329.88 per year.
- Business (3 or more users, from 6 TB): $24 per month billed monthly, or $228 per year ($19 per month).
- Business Pro (5 or more users, from 15 TB): $30 per month billed monthly, or $288 per year ($24 per month).
- Enterprise: custom, billed annually. 14-day free trial; payment details required.
Limits. Maximum file size is 15 GB on Business and 20 GB on Business Pro. There is no free business tier, and payment details are required even for the trial.
Best for. Legal, finance, HR and healthcare teams whose primary requirement is that nobody, including the vendor, can read their files.
Sync.com: Full Review
What it is. Sync.com is a Canadian, end-to-end encrypted storage service with a straightforward Teams product.
External sharing. Advanced share controls include read-only access, expiry dates, download limits, preview-only links, notifications, password protection, file requests and remote share wipe (removing a shared folder from members' devices after access is revoked). Custom branding is on Teams 2TB and 10TB.
Compliance. Sync lists SOC 2 Type 1, HIPAA, GDPR and PIPEDA compliance and provides a BAA for eligible healthcare customers. Files are stored in Canadian data centres in Toronto.
Admin. Multi-user admin console, centralized billing, the ability to manage user passwords and sign in as users, activity logs, 2FA enforcement, and per-user or per-group control over link and folder sharing. Teams 2TB and 10TB add role-based access control and admin delegation. SSO is not listed on Sync's pricing pages.
Pricing (regular prices per user per month; a 25%-off first-year promotion was running in October 2026).
- Teams 1TB: $6 billed annually, $8 monthly. 180-day file history.
- Teams 2TB: $9 annually, $12 monthly. 365-day file history.
- Teams 10TB: $15 annually, $18 monthly. 365-day file history, VIP support.
- All Teams plans require at least 3 users. Enterprise (100 or more users) is quote-based. 30-day free trial.
Limits. No SSO listed, and the only integration on the pricing page is Microsoft Office (an Office 365 license is required). Data residency is Canada only.
Best for. Small professional firms that want zero-knowledge sharing at a low per-seat cost and do not need SSO.
OneDrive: Full Review
What it is. OneDrive is the file storage inside Microsoft 365. For most businesses it is not a separate purchase: it comes with the Microsoft 365 plan that already provides email, Office and Teams.
External sharing. Microsoft's business plan comparison lists file sharing inside and outside the organization, easy-to-apply sharing policies, and password-protected or expiring link settings. Files can be up to 250 GB.
Compliance and admin. Business plans include encryption in transit and at rest and Microsoft Entra ID (free version on Business Basic and Standard). Business Premium adds device security and management and discovery, classification and protection of sensitive data. Microsoft 365 subscribers can restore an entire OneDrive to any point in the past 30 days.
Pricing (per user per month, paid yearly, annual subscription, 1 TB per user, up to 300 users).
- Microsoft 365 Business Basic: $7.00 (web and mobile apps, Teams, business email).
- Microsoft 365 Apps for business: $10.00 (desktop apps, no Teams).
- Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot: $23.50.
- Microsoft 365 Business Premium with Copilot: $32.00.
- One-month free trial; a credit card is required.
Limits. The 300-user cap applies to these business plans. OneDrive is a storage and sharing layer rather than a client portal: there are no built-in document request lists, e-signature or watermarking in the plan comparison.
Best for. Organizations already standardized on Microsoft 365 that need solid internal and external sharing without another vendor.
External Sharing Controls Compared
| Control | Box | Dropbox | Egnyte | ShareFile | Tresorit | Sync.com | OneDrive |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Password-protected links | Paid plans | Standard+ | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes (link security) | Yes | Yes |
| Link expiry | Paid plans | Standard+ | Not confirmed | All plans | Yes (link security) | Yes | Yes |
| Disable downloads / view-only | Per link | Standard+ | Not confirmed | All plans | Not confirmed | Yes (preview-only links) | Not confirmed |
| Watermarking | Business plans | Standard+ | Elite+ | Premium+ | Business Pro | No | No |
| E-signature included | Unlimited from Business | 3 requests/month | Elite+ (add-on below) | Premium+ | 16 free | No | No |
| External users free | Business Plus+ | Via shared links | Not confirmed | Unlimited client users | Via shared links | Clients do not count as users | Sharing outside the org included |
"Not confirmed" means the feature may exist but was not stated on the vendor pages reviewed for this guide.
Compliance and Security Compared
| Box | Dropbox | Egnyte | ShareFile | Tresorit | Sync.com | OneDrive | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA | BAA on Enterprise+ | BAA on Standard+ | HIPAA compliant storage listed (Business+) | Eligible on Premium+ with BAA | BAA available | BAA for eligible customers | Not reviewed |
| End-to-end / zero-knowledge | No | Encrypted team folders (Advanced+) | No | No | All plans | All plans | No |
| Data residency | Box Zones add-on | AU, EU, JP, UK for eligible teams | Enterprise Lite+ | Not confirmed | 12 regions, Business+ | Canada | Not reviewed |
| SSO | Business and Enterprise | Advanced+ | Add-on on Business; Enterprise Lite+ | All plans | Business+ | Not listed | Entra ID |
| Certifications named by vendor | SOC 1/2/3, FedRAMP Moderate (Enterprise) | ISO 27001, SOC 1/2/3 and more | SOC 2, ISO/IEC 27001 | HIPAA, SEC, FINRA eligibility | ISO 27001:2022 | SOC 2 Type 1 | Not reviewed |
Cost for a 10-Person and 50-Person Team
All figures use annual billing: per-user monthly price times users times 12. Tresorit is quoted per user per year, so its figure is the yearly price times users.
| Tool and plan | 10 users per year | 50 users per year |
|---|---|---|
| Box Business ($15) | $1,800 | $9,000 |
| Box Business Plus ($25) | $3,000 | $15,000 |
| Box Enterprise ($35, HIPAA) | $4,200 | $21,000 |
| Dropbox Standard ($15) | $1,800 | $9,000 |
| Dropbox Advanced ($24) | $2,880 | $14,400 |
| Egnyte Team ($10, max 10 users) | $1,200 | Not available |
| Egnyte Business ($22) | $2,640 | $13,200 |
| Egnyte Enterprise Lite ($39) | $4,680 | $23,400 |
| ShareFile Advanced ($16.50) | $1,980 | $9,900 |
| ShareFile Premium ($26, HIPAA) | $3,120 | $15,600 |
| Tresorit Business ($228/year) | $2,280 | $11,400 |
| Tresorit Business Pro ($288/year) | $2,880 | $14,400 |
| Sync.com Teams 2TB ($9) | $1,080 | $5,400 |
| OneDrive via Microsoft 365 Business Basic ($7) | $840 | $4,200 |
Worked examples:
- Box Business, 50 users: $15 x 50 x 12 = $9,000 a year, with unlimited storage.
- ShareFile Premium, 10 users: $26 x 10 x 12 = $3,120 a year. On monthly billing it is $28.59 x 10 x 12 = $3,430.80.
- Dropbox Advanced, 50 users: $24 x 50 x 12 = $14,400 billed yearly, or $30 x 50 x 12 = $18,000 billed monthly.
- Tresorit Business, 50 users: $228 x 50 = $11,400 a year.
- Egnyte at 50 users: the Team plan stops at 10 users, so the entry point is Business at $22 x 50 x 12 = $13,200.
What the math shows. For a 10-person team that does not need HIPAA, Box Business and Dropbox Standard cost the same ($1,800), and Box includes unlimited storage and e-signature. For HIPAA, Dropbox Standard ($1,800 at 10 users) is the cheapest mainstream option with a BAA, ShareFile Premium costs $3,120, and Box Enterprise costs $4,200. Sync.com Teams 2TB ($1,080) is the cheapest end-to-end encrypted option, and Tresorit Business ($2,280) is the cheapest zero-knowledge option with SSO and data residency. At 50 seats, the spread between Sync.com ($5,400) and Egnyte Enterprise Lite ($23,400) is more than fourfold, so it pays to be precise about which governance features you need.
How to Choose
- List your compliance requirements first. If you need a HIPAA BAA, the minimum tier is Standard on Dropbox, Premium on ShareFile and Enterprise on Box. If you need EU or other in-region storage, look at Tresorit Business, Egnyte Enterprise Lite, the Box Zones add-on, or Dropbox's eligible regions.
- Decide whether the vendor should be able to read your files. If not, choose Tresorit or Sync.com.
- Count external users. Box Business charges for external collaborators; Business Plus and ShareFile do not limit client users.
- Check whether you need SSO on day one. It is in ShareFile Advanced, Box Business and Tresorit Business, but requires Dropbox Advanced and Egnyte Enterprise Lite (or an add-on on Egnyte Business). Sync.com does not list it.
- Map client workflows. If you collect documents and signatures from clients, ShareFile Premium bundles requests, forms and e-signature; Box includes unlimited e-signature from Business.
- Use what you already pay for. If you have Microsoft 365, OneDrive may already cover internal and simple external sharing.
- Run a trial with real external users. Box, Dropbox, Egnyte (15 days), ShareFile (14 days), Tresorit (14 days), Sync.com (30 days) and Microsoft 365 (one month) all offer trials.
Conclusion
Box is the best all-round business file sharing platform in this group: at the same price as Dropbox Standard it adds unlimited storage, unlimited e-signature and SSO, and it scales up to FedRAMP Moderate and HIPAA on Enterprise. Dropbox is the value pick when a HIPAA BAA is required at a mid-range price. ShareFile is the strongest choice for client-facing firms that need portals, requests and e-signature in one place. Egnyte suits organizations with real governance requirements and the budget for Enterprise Lite. Tresorit and Sync.com are the two zero-knowledge options, separated mainly by admin depth and price. If you already run on Microsoft 365, start with OneDrive and add a specialist tool only for the workflows it does not cover.

