Why Look for Zendesk Alternatives in 2026
Zendesk's Suite plans bundle ticketing, messaging, live chat, voice and a help center. Once you add up seats, AI and add-ons, it is also one of the more expensive tools here.
Here is what pushes teams to look around:
- The full Suite costs much more than ticketing alone. Support Team (ticketing only) is $19/agent/month billed annually. Messaging, live chat and telephony need a Suite plan, which starts at $55/agent/month annual ($69 monthly). Suite Professional is $115 annual ($149 monthly).
- AI is billed on top of seats. Zendesk charges for AI agents per automated resolution (a request resolved without a human). Support Team and Suite Team include only 5 per agent per month, and Suite Professional 10. Extra resolutions on Suite plans cost $1.50 each committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go.
- Key features sit on higher plans. Skills-based routing, SLAs, IVR, light agents (up to 100) and HIPAA enablement are on Suite Professional. Suite Team allows 2 departments.
- Add-ons stack up. Copilot is $50/agent/month annual (Professional and above), Contact Center $83/agent/month, and the Workforce Engagement Bundle $50/agent/month.
- Enterprise pricing is not published. Suite Enterprise + Copilot is through sales.
Some alternatives are cheaper per agent, some have free plans, and Gorgias does not charge per agent at all. Because AI pricing now matters as much as seats, we cover the two costs separately.
Zendesk Suite review
Zendesk offers a ticketing-only plan (Support Team) and a full Suite that adds messaging, live chat, telephony and a help center.
Key features
- Ticketing across email and other channels (all plans)
- AI agents billed per automated resolution, with some resolutions included on every plan
- Messaging, live chat and telephony (Suite Team and up)
- Skills-based routing, SLAs and IVR phone tree (Suite Professional)
- Help center and AI knowledge base (Suite plans)
Pricing
Per agent per month, billed annually vs monthly:
- Support Team (ticketing only): $19 annual / $25 monthly
- Suite Team: $55 / $69
- Suite Professional: $115 / $149
- Suite Enterprise + Copilot: sales only
AI costs: Support Team and Suite Team include 5 automated resolutions per agent per month; Suite Professional includes 10. Extra resolutions on Suite plans are $1.50 each committed or $2.00 each pay-as-you-go. Zendesk shows no overage price for Support Team.
Add-ons: Copilot $50/agent/month annual (Professional and above), Contact Center $83/agent/month annual, Workforce Engagement Bundle $50/agent/month annual, and action credits at $200 per 100K actions.
There is no free plan. The 14-day free trial includes Suite Professional features and Copilot.
Pros
- Ticketing-only Support Team plan from $19/agent/month (annual) for teams that only need email tickets
- Suite plans bundle messaging, live chat, telephony and help center
- Every plan includes some AI automated resolutions
- Suite Professional adds skills-based routing, SLAs, IVR and up to 100 light agents
Cons
- Full Suite starts at $55/agent/month annual ($69 monthly), and Professional jumps to $115
- AI costs grow with usage: extra automated resolutions are $1.50 to $2.00 each on top of seat fees
- Copilot is an extra $50/agent/month and Enterprise pricing is not published
Who should use it
Mid-size and larger teams that want every channel from one vendor and can budget for seats plus per-resolution AI.
Who should skip it
Small teams that only need an email inbox, and teams that want predictable AI costs.
Freshdesk review
Freshdesk matches Zendesk's $19 entry price but includes a knowledge base and customer portal from the first plan.
Key features
- Ticketing and shared inbox (all plans)
- Freddy AI Agent with 500 sessions included (all plans)
- Customer portal and knowledge base (all plans)
- Intelligent routing, multiple SLA policies and custom dashboards (Pro)
- Skill-based routing, sandbox, audit logs and Freddy AI Insights (Enterprise)
Pricing
Per agent per month, billed annually vs monthly:
- Growth: $19 / $23
- Pro: $55 / $66
- Enterprise: $89 / $107
AI costs: every plan includes the first 500 Freddy AI Agent sessions; more cost $49 per 100. Freddy AI Copilot is $29/agent/month annual ($35 monthly), on Pro and Enterprise only.
Other extras: all plans include 5,000 collaborators. Day passes cost $2 (Growth), $7 (Pro) or $12 (Enterprise).
No free plan is listed. The 14-day free trial is of Enterprise; after it you pick a plan or the account is suspended.
Pros
- Growth plan starts at $19/agent/month billed annually
- Every plan includes 500 Freddy AI Agent sessions
- Knowledge base and customer portal included from the entry plan
- 5,000 collaborators included on all plans
Cons
- Monthly billing costs about 20% more ($23, $66, $107 per agent)
- AI sessions beyond 500 cost $49 per 100, and Copilot is an extra $29/agent/month
- Multiple SLAs and custom dashboards require Pro at $55/agent/month
Who should use it
Small and mid-size teams that want low-cost ticketing with a knowledge base and some AI included.
Who should skip it
Teams that want a free plan.
Help Scout review
Help Scout is an email-first help desk built around a shared Inbox and Docs knowledge base. It has a real free plan and the simplest AI pricing in this list.
Key features
- Shared Inbox with saved replies and tags (all plans)
- Docs knowledge base sites (1 on Free, up to 5 on Pro)
- Live chat, SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger (Standard and up)
- AI Answers at $0.75 per resolution, plus AI Drafts (unlimited on Plus)
- Workflows and SLA policies (basic on Standard, advanced on Plus)
Pricing
Prices below are per user per month on annual billing (annual saves 16%). Monthly prices are not printed on the pricing page.
- Free: up to 5 users, 1 Inbox, 1 Docs site, 100 contacts per month, 10 saved replies/tags/articles, 30-day reporting.
- Standard: $25. Up to 25 users, 2 Inboxes included (max 20), 2 Docs sites, unlimited contacts, 150 basic workflows, 1 SLA policy, 2-year reporting.
- Plus: $45. Up to 50 users, 5 Inboxes (max 50), 3 Docs sites, 500 advanced workflows, 2 SLA policies, up to 25 light users.
- Pro: $75. Unlimited users with a minimum of 10, 10 Inboxes, 5 Docs sites, unlimited workflows and SLAs, up to 50 light users. Sold through sales.
AI costs: AI Answers costs $0.75 per resolution, billed monthly, with an optional monthly spending cap. It comes with a 3-month free trial with unlimited resolutions.
Extras: an extra Inbox is $10/month annual ($12 monthly); an extra Docs site is $20/month annual ($24 monthly). There is a 15-day free trial of Standard or Plus, no credit card.
Pros
- Free plan for up to 5 users
- Unlimited contacts on all paid plans
- AI Answers is pay-per-resolution at $0.75 with an optional spending cap
- Docs knowledge base included on every plan
Cons
- User caps on Standard (25) and Plus (50) push larger teams to Pro, which needs 10+ users
- Key CRM integrations (Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira) and round robin start at Plus, $45/user/month
- Extra Inboxes and Docs sites cost $10 and $20 per month each
Who should use it
Small and mid-size teams that run support mostly over email. Very small teams can start free.
Who should skip it
Large teams that would outgrow the user caps.
Intercom review
Intercom is built around its Fin AI Agent and Messenger, for teams that expect AI to handle a large share of chats.
Key features
- Fin AI Agent billed per outcome (all plans)
- Messenger, shared inbox and ticketing (Essential)
- Workflow automation builder and round robin assignment (Advanced)
- Multilingual Help Center (Advanced) and multibrand Messenger and Help Center (Expert)
- SLAs, SSO and HIPAA support (Expert)
Pricing
Per seat per month, annual vs monthly billing:
- Essential: $29 / $39 (no lite seats)
- Advanced: $85 / $99 (20 free lite seats)
- Expert: $132 / $139 (50 free lite seats)
AI costs: Fin AI Agent is from $0.99 per outcome on every plan. You can also use Fin on its own with an existing help desk at $0.99 per outcome with a minimum monthly commitment (Intercom's example is 50 outcomes). Copilot is $29/agent/month annual or $35 monthly, and each agent gets 10 Copilot conversations free per month.
Other add-ons: Pro from $100/month (500 conversations, 6,000 credits, extra credits $0.01) and Proactive Support Plus at $99/month including 500 messages.
There is no free plan. The 14-day free trial needs no credit card and includes all features, Fin and add-ons.
Pros
- Fin AI Agent available on every plan, or standalone with another help desk
- Advanced and Expert include 20 and 50 free lite seats
- Workflow builder and multilingual Help Center on Advanced
- 14-day trial includes all features and add-ons
Cons
- Total cost is hard to predict: $0.99 per Fin outcome on top of per-seat fees
- Monthly billing costs more ($39, $99, $139 per seat)
- Copilot, Pro and Proactive Support Plus are paid add-ons
Who should use it
Chat-heavy teams that want AI to answer first, and teams that only want Fin on top of their current help desk.
Who should skip it
Teams that need a fixed monthly bill.
HubSpot Service Hub review
Service Hub is HubSpot's help desk. Tickets live in the same CRM as your sales and marketing data. It has a free plan and a low Starter price, then a big step up to Professional.
Key features
- Help desk ticketing built on the HubSpot CRM
- Knowledge base (1 with 2,000 articles on Starter; 100 with 10,000 on Professional)
- Calling minutes (500 Starter, 3,000 Professional, 12,000 Enterprise)
- Customer Agent AI, with HubSpot Credits included per plan
- Playbooks and sequences (5 playbooks on Starter, 5,000 on Professional)
Pricing
- Free: up to 2 users.
- Starter: from $7/seat/month paid annually or $20/seat/month paid monthly. 500 HubSpot Credits. Starter includes 1 knowledge base, 500 macros and 5 playbooks.
- Professional: from $90/seat/month paid annually, or $100/seat/month paid monthly with an annual commitment. Required one-time onboarding fee of $1,500. 3,000 HubSpot Credits.
- Enterprise: from $150/seat/month. Required one-time onboarding fee of $3,500. 5,000 HubSpot Credits.
View-only seats are free.
AI costs: Customer Agent is free for 14 days with at least 1 Professional or Enterprise seat. After the trial it uses HubSpot Credits, but the pricing page does not state how many credits a conversation costs. Extra credits are $0.010 each, in packs or pay-as-you-go; they reset monthly and do not roll over.
Pros
- Free plan for up to 2 users
- Starter from $7/seat/month on annual billing
- Tickets live in the same CRM as sales and marketing data
- Each paid plan includes HubSpot Credits for AI features
Cons
- Big price jump to Professional ($90 to $100/seat/month) plus $1,500 onboarding
- Enterprise adds a $3,500 onboarding fee
- AI agent cost after the trial depends on credits and is not clearly priced per conversation
Who should use it
Teams already on HubSpot CRM, and small teams that want a free or very cheap help desk tied to customer records.
Who should skip it
Teams that need Professional but not the onboarding fee, and anyone who needs a clear AI price before signing.
Zoho Desk review
Zoho Desk ties for the lowest entry price here, with a free plan for 3 users and AI Agents from the entry plan. The knowledge base and live chat start one plan up.
Key features
- Email, social and web form ticketing with workflows (Express)
- Knowledge base, community forum and live chat widget (Standard)
- Zia AI, telephony, Blueprints and round-robin assignment (Professional)
- Multilingual help center in 40+ languages (Professional)
- Skill-based assignment, multi-brand help center and sandbox (Enterprise)
Pricing
USD per user per month, billed annually vs monthly:
- Free: 3 users, limited features
- Express: $7 / $9
- Standard: $14 / $20
- Professional: $23 / $35
- Enterprise: $40 / $50
Light agents (Professional and Enterprise) are $6 each per month; an extra department is $6/month annual ($7 monthly).
AI costs: Express includes AI Agents (bring your own key or use Zoho's LLM, with up to 30M free tokens per month) and generative AI through your own OpenAI or DeepSeek key. Standard adds Answer bot, and Zia AI comes with Professional. Zoho's plan details describe AI by plan and token allowance rather than by resolution.
There is a 15-day free trial of any paid plan with no credit card; when it ends, the account moves to the Free plan.
Pros
- Paid plans start at $7/user/month billed annually
- Free plan for 3 users and a 15-day trial without a card
- AI Agents available from the Express plan
- Professional at $23/user/month annual includes Zia AI and telephony
Cons
- Express lacks a knowledge base and live chat
- Monthly billing costs noticeably more (for example $35 vs $23 on Professional)
- Advanced routing and multi-brand help centers require Enterprise at $40/user/month
Who should use it
Cost-conscious teams, especially on Zoho apps, that want low seat prices.
Who should skip it
Teams that need skill-based routing or multiple brands below Enterprise prices.
Gorgias review
Gorgias is the ecommerce help desk in this list. It charges by ticket volume instead of by agent and integrates deeply with Shopify.
Key features
- Shopify and Shopify Plus integration (all plans); WooCommerce and BigCommerce (Basic and up); Magento (Pro and up)
- AI Agent for automated replies and actions such as cancel or discount (actions from Basic)
- Email, chat, social and help center channels (all plans)
- Revenue attribution analytics (Pro and Advanced)
- Voice and SMS add-ons (Basic and up)
Pricing
Helpdesk price per month, annual vs monthly:
- Starter: $10 (monthly billing only), 50 tickets per month, 3 user seats, overage $0.40 per ticket
- Basic: $50 / $60, 300 tickets, 500 seats, overage $40 per 100
- Pro: $300 / $360, 2,000 tickets, 500 seats, overage $36 per 100
- Advanced: $750 / $900, 5,000 tickets, 500 seats, overage $36 per 100
- Enterprise: custom, for over 5,000 conversations a month
AI costs: AI Agent is optional and priced per automated interaction. Plan cards add an allotment of 30 interactions (Starter, Basic), 190 (Pro) or 530 (Advanced) at $0.90 each on annual plans or $1.00 on monthly plans. With AI, totals are Starter $40/month, Basic $77 annual ($90 monthly), Pro $471 annual ($550 monthly) and Advanced $1,227 annual ($1,430 monthly). Above the allowance, AI costs $1.50 per interaction, and every AI interaction also counts as a helpdesk ticket. Gorgias's compare table shows slightly different rates on some plans, so confirm yours.
There is no free plan. The 7-day free trial includes all features and needs no payment info.
Pros
- Priced by tickets, not agents, with 500 user seats from Basic
- Deep Shopify integration on every plan
- AI Agent can take actions like cancellations and discounts (Basic and up)
- Low $10 Starter plan for very small stores
Cons
- Costs rise with volume: overage tickets plus AI interactions that also count as tickets
- Big jump from Basic (300 tickets) to Pro ($300/month annual)
- Starter limited to 3 seats and 50 tickets
Who should use it
Shopify and other ecommerce brands with many agents, where paying per ticket beats paying per seat.
Who should skip it
Non-ecommerce businesses, and stores with high ticket volume but few agents.
Head-to-Head Comparison
Ease of use
Help Scout is the simplest fit for email-first support, and HubSpot Service Hub for teams already in HubSpot. Zendesk and Freshdesk offer the most structure (routing, SLAs, channels), which also means more to configure. Intercom centers on Messenger and Fin, Gorgias on the Shopify order.
Features
- Channels: Zendesk Suite Team and up adds messaging, live chat and telephony. Help Scout Standard adds live chat, SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger. Gorgias covers email, chat, social and help center on all plans. Zoho Desk adds a live chat widget on Standard and telephony on Professional.
- Knowledge base: included on Freshdesk, Help Scout and HubSpot from the entry paid plan (and Help Scout Free). Zoho Desk adds it on Standard; Zendesk on Suite plans.
- Routing and SLAs: skills-based routing and SLAs need Zendesk Suite Professional; multiple SLAs need Freshdesk Pro; SLAs need Intercom Expert; skill-based assignment needs Zoho Desk Enterprise. Help Scout has 1 SLA on Standard and 2 on Plus.
Pricing value: seats
For a 10-agent team on annual billing, the monthly seat cost at a mid-tier plan is:
- Zoho Desk Professional: 10 x $23 = $230
- Help Scout Plus: 10 x $45 = $450
- Freshdesk Pro: 10 x $55 = $550
- Zendesk Suite Team: 10 x $55 = $550 (Suite Professional: 10 x $115 = $1,150)
- Intercom Advanced: 10 x $85 = $850
- HubSpot Professional: 10 x $90 = $900, plus a one-time $1,500 onboarding fee
Gorgias does not charge per agent: for up to 2,000 tickets a month, Pro is $300/month on annual billing, with 500 seats.
Pricing value: AI per resolution
Now add AI for the same team, assuming 600 AI-handled conversations a month (a rough guide, since units differ):
- Zendesk Suite Team: 10 agents x 5 = 50 included. 550 extra x $1.50 = $825 committed (or x $2.00 = $1,100 pay-as-you-go). Total with seats: $550 + $825 = $1,375/month.
- Zendesk Suite Professional: 10 x 10 = 100 included. 500 extra x $1.50 = $750. Total: $1,150 + $750 = $1,900/month.
- Freshdesk Pro: the first 500 Freddy AI Agent sessions are included. Freshdesk does not say they renew monthly, so once they are used, 600 sessions = 6 x $49 = $294. Total: $550 + $294 = $844/month.
- Help Scout Plus: 600 x $0.75 = $450. Total: $450 + $450 = $900/month (AI is free for the first 3 months).
- Intercom Advanced: 600 x $0.99 = $594. Total: $850 + $594 = $1,444/month.
- Gorgias Pro: the plan card's 190 interactions are included in the $471 annual total. 410 more x $1.50 = $615, so about $1,086/month, and all 600 AI interactions also count toward the 2,000-ticket allowance.
- HubSpot and Zoho Desk: not priceable from published numbers. HubSpot does not state credits per conversation, and Zoho prices AI by token allowance.
The pattern: per-resolution AI can cost as much as the seats. On Zendesk Suite Team, the AI line ($825 to $1,100) is bigger than the seat line because only 50 resolutions are included, while Freshdesk and Help Scout come out cheapest of the priced options.
Integrations and ecosystem
HubSpot Service Hub fits teams on HubSpot's CRM, and Zoho Desk teams on Zoho apps. Help Scout's Salesforce, HubSpot and Jira integrations start at Plus. Gorgias connects to Shopify on every plan, WooCommerce and BigCommerce from Basic, and Magento from Pro. Intercom's Fin can run on top of another help desk, which makes it an add-on option even if you keep your current tool.
Limits that bite
- Zendesk: only 5 or 10 automated resolutions per agent per month included; Support Team has no messaging, live chat or telephony.
- Freshdesk: only the first 500 AI sessions are included; Copilot is not available on Growth.
- Help Scout: user caps of 25 (Standard) and 50 (Plus); Pro needs 10+ users.
- Intercom: Essential has no lite seats and no workflow builder.
- HubSpot: Professional monthly billing still needs an annual commitment.
- Zoho Desk: Express lacks a knowledge base and live chat.
- Gorgias: ticket caps of 50, 300, 2,000 or 5,000 per month; Starter has 3 seats and monthly billing only.
How to Choose: Decision Framework
Questions to ask
- Which channels do you need? For mostly email, Help Scout, Freshdesk Growth or Zendesk Support Team may be enough.
- How many agents and tickets? Per-agent pricing suits small teams with high volume; Gorgias suits large teams with modest volume.
- How much will AI handle? Estimate monthly AI conversations, then price them with each vendor's unit and included allowance.
- Where does your customer data live? HubSpot and Zoho users gain most by staying put; Shopify stores should look at Gorgias.
- Will you need routing, SLAs or compliance? These usually sit on mid or top plans, so price that plan, not the entry one.
Red flags
- AI pricing with no cap or no clear unit price (HubSpot's per-conversation credits after the trial are not stated).
- Unpublished top-tier pricing (Zendesk Suite Enterprise).
- One-time onboarding fees that are easy to miss (HubSpot Professional and Enterprise).
What to test in a trial
- Route a week of real tickets and check how assignment and SLAs behave.
- Turn on the AI agent and count how many conversations it fully resolves.
- Check what the vendor counts as a billable resolution, outcome, session or interaction.
The Verdict: Final Recommendations
1) Zendesk Suite: best for multichannel teams scaling up
Price Suite Professional with Copilot and your expected AI volume before you sign.
2) Freshdesk: best budget-friendly ticketing with AI included
Start on Growth and move to Pro when you need multiple SLAs or custom dashboards.
3) Help Scout: best for simple email support
Start free with up to 5 users, then move to Standard or Plus.
4) Intercom: best for AI-first chat support
Model your Fin bill at $0.99 per outcome for a realistic month.
5) HubSpot Service Hub: best for HubSpot CRM users
Use Free or Starter to test, and budget for the $1,500 onboarding fee if you need Professional.
6) Zoho Desk: best low-cost help desk
Pick Standard if you need a knowledge base and live chat, or Professional for Zia AI and telephony.
7) Gorgias: best for Shopify stores
Estimate monthly tickets, including AI interactions, since both count toward your plan.
Conclusion
Zendesk is a strong all-in-one suite, but seats, add-ons and per-resolution AI make it expensive when AI handles a lot of conversations. Freshdesk is the best value for most teams wanting similar structure, Help Scout suits email-first teams, Intercom is the AI-first choice, HubSpot and Zoho Desk fit their ecosystems, and Gorgias suits Shopify stores. Price each tool twice, for seats and for AI at your real volume, then trial it with your own tickets.


