Skip to main content
Marketing Automation

Best Email Marketing Software for Ecommerce in 2026

Short answer: Pick Klaviyo if email is a main revenue channel for your store. Pick Omnisend if you want ready-made store automations for less.

Marcus WilliamsSenior Editor, Sales & Customer Software✓ Prices checked October 20267 tools17 min read
Our pick for online stores

Klaviyo

From $20Free planG2 4.6 · 1,368 reviews

Klaviyo runs every segment and flow on store data, includes flows on every plan and has the deepest Shopify sync here. The catch is cost as your list grows and paid add-ons.

The other picks

Best valueOmnisendReady-made store workflows from $20/month at 1,000 contacts.
Best all-features planDripOne plan, every feature and unlimited sends from $39/month.
Best for stores with newslettersMailchimpFamiliar tool with an official Shopify app; use Standard.
Best for large listsBrevoPriced by emails sent, not contacts stored.
Best for complex automationActiveCampaignThe deepest automation builder, at a higher price.
Best budget pick off ShopifyMoosend$88/month at 10,000 subscribers with unlimited sends.

All 7, side by side

ToolFromFree planG2 ratingBest for
$20Free up to 250 profiles; Email from $20/month (500 profiles, monthly)✓ Yes4.61,368 reviewsStores where email drives revenue
$16Free (250 contacts); paid from $16/month (Standard, 500 contacts, monthly)✓ Yes4.61,232 reviewsBudget-minded stores wanting ready-made automations
$39From $39/month (up to 2,500 people, monthly); 14-day free trial✓ YesNot yet verifiedStores wanting all features, one plan
$13Free (250 contacts); paid from $13/month (Essentials, 500 contacts, monthly)✓ Yes4.312,993 reviewsStores that also send newsletters
$9Free (300 emails/day); paid from $9/month (Starter, 5,000 emails/month, monthly)✓ Yes4.52,768 reviewsBig lists that send infrequently
ActiveCampaignPricing source ↗
$15From $15/month (annual) or $19/month (monthly) for 1,000 contacts on StarterNo4.414,813 reviewsStores needing deep automation logic
$9From $9/month (Pro, 500 subscribers, monthly) or $7/month annual; 30-day free trial✓ YesNot yet verifiedBudget WooCommerce and Magento stores

Starting prices are the lowest paid plan, checked on each vendor's pricing page in October 2026. G2 ratings are shown only when we confirmed them.

Why the Right Email Marketing Software for Ecommerce Matters in 2026

For an online store, email is not a newsletter. It is abandoned cart reminders, post-purchase follow-ups, back-in-stock alerts and win-back offers, all triggered by what shoppers do in your store. The tool you pick decides how much of that runs on its own and what it costs as your list grows.

Two things make the choice harder in 2026. Prices diverge sharply with list size: at 10,000 contacts, the monthly bill in this guide runs from $88 on Moosend Pro to $239 on ActiveCampaign Plus, on monthly billing. And SMS rules keep moving. Omnisend removed SMS from its Free and Standard plans for new accounts on May 4, 2026, and Klaviyo moved new accounts from SMS credits to per-message dollar rates on July 13, 2026.

This guide compares seven tools for stores: cost at 1,000, 5,000 and 10,000 contacts, the ecommerce automations each one ships, what SMS costs on top, and how deep each one goes with Shopify.

A note on the line-up. We left out Postscript and Attentive, two tools often grouped with these. Postscript is an SMS platform; its email product is on a waitlist with no published price. Attentive sells email in bundles but publishes no prices, so it cannot be compared on cost. Both are covered in our SMS marketing guide. In their place we added ActiveCampaign and Moosend, which both publish full price ladders and ecommerce automations.

Klaviyo review

Klaviyo is an email, SMS and push platform built around unified customer profiles. Every order, product view and cart feeds the profile, and segments and flows run on that data.

Pricing. Billed monthly on active profiles, meaning contacts who can receive marketing. Free covers 250 active profiles and 500 sends a month, plus $5 of mobile messages. The Email plan is $20 at 500 profiles, $30 at 1,000, $45 at 1,500, $60 at 2,500, $100 at 5,000 and $150 at 10,000, with a send limit of about 10 times your profiles. No annual price is shown. SMS is billed separately per message; since July 13, 2026 the US rates are shown only in your account. New paying customers get $19 off the first month of the $20 plan through November 30, 2026.

Key features. Abandoned cart, browse abandonment, welcome and win-back flows; product recommendations in email; predictive analytics; email, SMS, WhatsApp, RCS and push from one profile; and 350+ integrations. The Shopify app syncs tags, catalog and coupons. WooCommerce connects through the Klaviyo WordPress plugin.

Pros. Store data drives everything, so segments like "bought twice, not in 60 days" are easy. Flows are on the free plan. Email and SMS share one profile and report.

Cons. Cost rises fast with list size. Reviews, advanced attribution, CDP, helpdesk and the Composer AI agent ($20/month) are paid extras. You cannot see SMS rates before signing up.

Who should use it. Shopify stores, and most other stores, where email and SMS are core revenue channels.

Who should avoid it. Stores with large, low-value lists that send rarely, which will pay less with Brevo or Moosend.

Omnisend review

Omnisend is an email, SMS and web push platform built for ecommerce, with pre-built store automations.

Pricing. Billed monthly on billable contacts. That includes subscribers plus non-subscribers who received automated messages, such as buyers and cart abandoners without opt-in, so your count can be higher than your list. Free covers 250 contacts and 500 emails a month. Standard sends 12 times your contacts: $16 at 500, $20 at 1,000, $44 at 2,500, $81 at 5,000 and $132 at 10,000. Pro has unlimited emails under fair use: $59 up to 2,500, $90 at 5,000 and $150 at 10,000. Prepaying 3 months gives 30% off those first 3 months. No annual plan is shown.

Key features. Workflows for cart abandonment, welcome, order and shipping confirmation and post-purchase; email, SMS and push in the same workflow; automation splits and A/B tests; Facebook and Google audience sync; and an AI product recommender on Pro. Free migration and 24/7 support come with every plan. It has a Shopify app and a WooCommerce plugin.

Pros. Abandoned cart is included even on Free. Standard undercuts Klaviyo at every size we checked. Support is 24/7 on all plans.

Cons. The billable contacts rule can raise your tier. SMS is Pro-only for new accounts. The pricing FAQ still mentions bonus SMS credits on Pro, while the 2026 help article says those apply only to Legacy Pro, so check at signup.

Who should use it. Shopify and WooCommerce stores that want ready-made automations at a lower price.

Who should avoid it. Stores that want SMS on a cheap plan.

Drip review

Drip is an ecommerce email automation platform for Shopify, WooCommerce and BigCommerce stores.

Pricing. One plan with every feature, priced by active people and billed monthly: $39 up to 2,500, $49 at 3,000, $89 at 5,000, $124 at 7,500 and $154 at 10,000. Email sends are unlimited. There is no free plan, but a 14-day free trial needs no card; unlimited sends are not available during the trial. Live chat support starts on $99/month plans. No annual pricing is shown.

Key features. Playbooks for welcome, abandoned cart and win-back; dynamic segments based on browsing, buying and going quiet; onsite popups and forms; revenue attribution per email; A/B split testing in workflows; back-in-stock alerts, extended to a 90-day window in September 2026; up to 50 workflows; and a free MCP connection for AI tools.

Pros. No feature ladder to climb. Unlimited sends suit stores that email often. Revenue attribution is built in.

Cons. $39/month is a lot for a store with a few hundred contacts. Drip SMS launched for US customers in 2026, but its tier prices are not shown on the pricing page.

Who should use it. Stores past 1,000 contacts that want one predictable plan.

Who should avoid it. New stores with tiny lists, and stores outside the US that want SMS.

Mailchimp review

Mailchimp is a general email and SMS platform with strong ecommerce integrations, including an official Shopify app and WooCommerce plugin.

Pricing. Billed monthly by contacts. The free plan covers 250 contacts and 500 sends but no real automation flows. Essentials sends 10 times your contacts but limits flows to 4 steps: $13 at 500, $26.50 at 1,500, $75 at 5,000, $110 at 10,000. Standard sends 12 times your contacts and allows up to 200 flows with branching: $20 at 500, $45 at 1,500, $100 at 5,000, $135 at 10,000. There is no 1,000-contact tier, so a 1,000-contact list pays the 1,500 price. Premium starts at $350 for 10,000 contacts. Lists of 10,000+ contacts get 15% off for the first 12 months. Paid plans charge overages past contact or send limits.

Key features. Customer Journey flows, abandoned cart flows for connected stores, product recommendations on all plans, send time optimization and dynamic content on Standard, landing pages and pop-up forms, and 300+ integrations.

Pros. Cheapest paid entry, familiar editor, and a huge integration library.

Cons. Essentials' 4-step flow limit is too tight for serious store journeys, so most stores need Standard. We could not confirm whether the abandoned cart flow fits within Essentials. SMS credits expire monthly.

Who should use it. Small stores that also send newsletters or use many non-ecommerce apps.

Who should avoid it. Stores that want ecommerce depth first.

Brevo review

Brevo, formerly Sendinblue, is an all-in-one platform for email, SMS, WhatsApp, push, transactional messages and a sales CRM. It charges by emails sent per month, not contacts stored.

Pricing. Free allows 300 emails a day and stores up to 100,000 contacts, with automation for up to 2,000 contacts. Paid plans tie stored contacts to the email tier: 500 contacts at 5,000 emails, 1,500 at 10,000, 2,500 at 15,000, and up to 500,000 from 20,000 emails. Starter, monthly: $9 for 5,000 emails, $17 for 10,000, $32 for 20,000, $56 for 50,000. Automation stays capped at 2,000 contacts. Standard adds unlimited automation and A/B tests: $18 for 5,000, $35 for 10,000, $69 for 20,000, $97 for 50,000. Professional starts at $499/month for 150,000 emails. Yearly billing saves 10%.

Key features. Abandoned cart recovery on all plans, back-in-stock alerts from Starter, transactional email and SMS on every plan, push notifications, a built-in CRM, and a Shopify app that syncs customers, orders and abandoned carts with Shopify-specific flows. AI product recommendations and dynamic coupons are on Professional.

Pros. Very cheap for big lists that send a few times a month. Transactional email is included.

Cons. Store automation for more than 2,000 contacts needs Standard. Product recommendations need the $499 plan.

Who should use it. Stores with large lists and modest sending, or that want CRM and transactional messages in one bill.

Who should avoid it. Stores that email daily, or want product recommendations on a small budget.

ActiveCampaign review

ActiveCampaign is an email and marketing automation platform with one of the deepest automation builders available. It is not ecommerce-only, but its Shopify integration is included on every plan, and its integration page lists abandoned cart alerts as a use case.

Pricing. Monthly prices at 1,000, 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 contacts. Starter: $19, $49, $99, $189, limited to 5 actions per automation. Plus: $59, $119, $179, $239, with unlimited actions and landing pages. Pro: $99, $189, $259, $469, adding site tracking, revenue attribution and predictive sending. Enterprise: $179, $319, $469, $739. Annual billing is cheaper, for example $180/year for Starter at 1,000 contacts. There is no free plan; the trial lasts 14 days. These prices come from the price file ActiveCampaign's pricing page loads, so live prices could differ slightly.

Key features. Visual automations with branching, goals and webhooks; contact scoring; segmentation tiers; site tracking and revenue attribution on Pro; and add-ons for CRM pipelines, SMS, WhatsApp and transactional email.

Pros. The most flexible automation logic here. Useful for stores with longer buying cycles or a B2B side.

Cons. Starter's 5-action cap rules it out for most store flows, so Plus is the real starting point. Store-focused features like revenue attribution need Pro.

Who should use it. Stores that need custom logic beyond standard ecommerce flows.

Who should avoid it. Stores that just want proven cart and post-purchase flows at a low price.

Moosend review

Moosend, now a Constant Contact company, is a budget email and automation tool with ecommerce tracking.

Pricing. One Pro plan priced by subscribers, with unlimited sends. Monthly: $16 at 1,000, $48 at 5,000 and $88 at 10,000. Annual billing per month: $13, $38 and $70. Biannual billing sits in between. There is no free plan, but a 30-day trial needs no card.

Key features. Automation recipes including abandoned cart, triggers on product views and cart additions, AI product recommendations, landing pages, forms, A/B tests and heatmaps. Native ecommerce integrations listed: WooCommerce, Magento and OpenCart.

Pros. The lowest cost here at 5,000 and 10,000 subscribers, with unlimited sends and product recommendations on the base plan.

Cons. We found no Shopify app; its Shopify App Store link returns a 404. No SMS channel is mentioned. Transactional email is an add-on.

Who should use it. WooCommerce and Magento stores that want email only, cheaply.

Who should avoid it. Shopify stores and anyone who wants SMS.

Head-to-Head: Cost at 1,000, 5,000 and 10,000 Contacts

Monthly list prices on monthly billing. For Brevo, which charges by emails sent, we assume four emails per contact per month on Standard (the first plan with unlimited automation). That assumption and the Brevo figures are our arithmetic.

Tool and plan1,000 contacts5,000 contacts10,000 contacts
Klaviyo Email$30$100$150
Omnisend Standard$20$81$132
Omnisend Pro$59$90$150
Drip$39$89$154
Mailchimp Essentials$26.50$75$110
Mailchimp Standard$45$100$135
Brevo Standard (4 sends each)$35 (10,000 emails)$69 (20,000 emails)$97 (50,000 emails)
ActiveCampaign Plus$59$179$239
Moosend Pro$16$48$88

What this shows:

  • Moosend is cheapest at every size, but without a Shopify app.
  • Among Shopify-ready tools, Omnisend Standard and Mailchimp Essentials are cheapest, but Mailchimp Essentials limits flows to 4 steps. Brevo Standard gets cheaper as lists grow if you send rarely.
  • Klaviyo, Omnisend Pro, Drip and Mailchimp Standard cluster between $135 and $154 at 10,000 contacts.
  • ActiveCampaign costs the most once you need Plus or above.
  • Send limits matter. Klaviyo allows about 10 times your profiles and Omnisend Standard 12 times. Drip, Omnisend Pro and Moosend offer unlimited sends.

Head-to-Head: Ecommerce Automations

ToolAbandoned cartBrowse abandonmentBack in stockProduct recommendations
KlaviyoYes, all plansYesNot statedYes, in email
OmnisendYes, even FreeNot statedNot statedAI recommender on Pro
DripYes, playbookBehavior segmentsYes, 90-day windowNot stated
MailchimpYes, with connected storeNot statedNot statedYes, all plans
BrevoYes, all plansNot statedYes, from StarterProfessional only
ActiveCampaignListed as a Shopify use caseAbandoned browse listedNot statedPredictive content on Pro
MoosendYes, recipeProduct view triggersNot statedYes, AI engine

"Not stated" means we did not find it on the vendor pages we checked, not that it is missing. Klaviyo and Omnisend ship the most complete ready-made store flows. Drip's 90-day back-in-stock window is useful for stores with long restock times.

Head-to-Head: SMS Add-On Costs

  • Klaviyo: per-message dollar rates with carrier fees built in, shown only in-account since July 13, 2026. The free plan includes $5 of messages each month.
  • Omnisend: Pro only for new accounts. US SMS from $0.009 down to $0.007 per message as monthly spend rises, and MMS from $0.027 down to $0.021.
  • Mailchimp: from $20/month for 1,000 credits, $45 for 5,000, $90 for 10,000. Credits expire monthly, the add-on needs approval, and MMS needs Standard or Premium.
  • Brevo: credits in packs of 100, US from $0.0109 per credit. Prepaid credits never expire.
  • ActiveCampaign: Plus and up; its price data shows packs from $21/month for 1,000 credits.
  • Drip: US only, monthly tiers by SMS subscribers; tier prices not shown.
  • Moosend: no SMS channel mentioned.

If SMS will be a big part of your mix, also compare SMS-first tools like Postscript in our SMS marketing guide.

Head-to-Head: Shopify Depth

  • Klaviyo: its own Shopify app syncs tags, catalog and coupons.
  • Omnisend: Shopify app with Free, Standard and Pro plans listed.
  • Drip: Shopify app listed at $39/month with a 14-day trial; Shopify triggers updated in January 2026.
  • Mailchimp: official Intuit Mailchimp app with abandoned cart reminders, product recommendations and SMS.
  • Brevo: app syncs customers, orders and abandoned carts, with Shopify-specific cart and post-purchase flows.
  • ActiveCampaign: Shopify integration on all plans; Shopify Plus named among Pro's premium integrations.
  • Moosend: no Shopify app found.

How to Choose: Decision Framework

  1. On Shopify and email is a main revenue channel? Start with Klaviyo. If the price at your list size hurts, run the same flows on Omnisend Standard.
  2. Want SMS in the same tool? Klaviyo or Omnisend Pro. Check Klaviyo's in-account rate first.
  3. Want one plan with everything and unlimited sends? Drip, once you are past 1,000 contacts.
  4. Also send a regular newsletter and use lots of non-store apps? Mailchimp Standard.
  5. Big list, few sends a month? Brevo Standard.
  6. Need custom logic or have a B2B side? ActiveCampaign Plus or Pro.
  7. On WooCommerce or Magento and watching every dollar? Moosend.

Before you commit, check how the tool counts contacts (active profiles, billable contacts or emails sent), the send limit at your tier, and how easily you can export customer data and flows if you leave.

The Verdict: Final Recommendations

Klaviyo is our pick for ecommerce email. It is $30/month at 1,000 profiles and $150 at 10,000, with the core store flows on every plan and the strongest Shopify data sync here. You pay more than Omnisend, and extras add up.

Omnisend is the value pick, at $20 for 1,000 contacts and $132 for 10,000 on Standard, with abandoned cart even on Free. Drip suits stores that want every feature on one plan. Mailchimp works for stores that also run newsletters, on Standard. Brevo is cheapest for large lists that send rarely. ActiveCampaign is for complex logic. Moosend is the budget pick for stores not on Shopify.

Conclusion

Pick the tool that matches how you sell. If store data should drive your email, Klaviyo or Omnisend will get abandoned cart, welcome and post-purchase flows running fastest. If you want flat, predictable pricing, Drip or Moosend. If your list is large and your sending light, Brevo. Price each option at your real contact count and send volume, and check what SMS will cost before you build your flows around it.

Frequently asked questions

Klaviyo is our pick. Its flows and segments run on store data, the free plan includes flows, and its Shopify app syncs tags, catalog and coupons. It costs $30/month at 1,000 active profiles and $150 at 10,000 on monthly billing. Omnisend is the lower-cost alternative.

About the editor

Marcus Williams

Senior Editor, Sales & Customer Software

Marcus covers CRM, marketing automation, customer support, recruiting and e-commerce platforms. He pays closest attention to total cost, integration depth, and how hard it is to leave once your data is in.

Prices come from each vendor's pricing page, checked in October 2026. G2 ratings are shown only when we confirmed them on G2.

How we compare →

More comparisons